Elaine on the Radio





Elaine PetrocelliRonn Owens

Book Passage President Elaine Petrocelli often appears on the Bay Area's KGO Radio 810 Ronn Owens Show to discuss current books. The shows feature engaging conversation and excellent reading recommendations! You may view & purchase the books from Elaine and Ronn's discussion list below:

......................................................................................... 

Summer Reads
from the Ronn Owens Show, June 16, 2017

.........................................................................................

 

The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616204167
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - May 9th, 2017

"A remarkable journey. I laughed. I cried. I got another cat." --Lily Tomlin

"Paula Poundstone is the funniest human being I have ever known." --Peter Sagal, host of Wait Wait . . . Don't Tell Me and author of The Book of Vice


Deepa's Secrets: Slow Carb New Indian Cuisine Cover Image
By Deepa Thomas, Curt Ellis (Foreword by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781510718982
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Skyhorse Publishing - July 4th, 2017

A journey from old traditions to modern Indian cooking with deliciously simple and gut-healing recipes that leave you feeling fulfilled--rather than full.


The Sweet Spot: How to Accomplish More by Doing Less Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553392067
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - June 6th, 2017

Learn how to achieve more by doing less Live in that zone you've glimpsed but can't seem to hold on to--the sweet spot where you have the greatest strength, but also the greatest ease.


Churchill and Orwell: The Fight for Freedom Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594206139
Availability: Special Order
Published: Penguin Press - May 23rd, 2017

New York Times Bestseller

A dual biography of Winston Churchill and George Orwell, who preserved democracy from the threats of authoritarianism, from the left and right alike.


Into the Water Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735211209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 2nd, 2017

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

An addictive new novel of psychological suspense from the author of #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon The Girl on the Train.


Miss Burma Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802126450
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - May 2nd, 2017

A beautiful and poignant story of one family during the most violent and turbulent years of world history, Miss Burma is a powerful novel of love and war, colonialism and ethnicity, and the ties of blood.


Defectors Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781501121395
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - June 6th, 2017

A USA TODAY "Must Read" Book
A New York Post "Must Read" Book

"Fascinating... Kanon] is a master of the genre... The] roller-coaster plot will keep you guessing until the final page." --The Washington Post


The Sunshine Sisters Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399583315
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - June 6th, 2017

"A plum of a novel: juicy, ripe and bursting with sticky situations. I savored every page."--Elin Hildebrand, New York Times bestselling author of The Identicals


The Force Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062664419
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - June 20th, 2017

The acclaimed, award-winning, bestselling author of The Cartel--voted one of the Best Books of the Year by more than sixty publications, including the New York Times--makes his William Morrow debut with a cinematic epic as explosive, powerful, and unforgettable as Mystic River and The Wire.


A Column of Fire Cover Image
$36.00
ISBN: 9780525954972
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking - September 12th, 2017

International bestselling author Ken Follett has enthralled millions of readers with The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End, two stories of the Middle Ages set in the fictional city of Kingsbridge. The saga now continues with Follett's magnificent new epic, A Column of Fire.


She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Chelsea Clinton, Alexandra Boiger (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524741723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - May 30th, 2017

Chelsea Clinton introduces tiny feminists, mini activists and little kids who are ready to take on the world to thirteen inspirational women who never took no for an answer, and who always, inevitably and without fail, persisted.


Goldfish Ghost Cover Image
By Lemony Snicket, Lisa Brown (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626725072
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - May 2nd, 2017

Goldfish Ghost was born on the surface of the water in the bowl on a dresser in a boy's room. The boy's room was pleasant and familiar, but Goldfish Ghost wanted company, so he set out to find a friend.

He floats over the neighborhood, past the pier, and let the breeze carry him into town where he discovers that not many people pay attention to goldfish ghosts.


The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors Cover Image
By Drew Daywalt, Adam Rex (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062438898
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - April 4th, 2017

New York Times Bestseller 5 Starred Reviews

"Will have listeners in stitches." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Purely absurd, sidesplitting humor." --Booklist (starred review)

"Demands bombastic, full-volume performances." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Hilo Book 3: The Great Big Boom Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780385386203
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 21st, 2017

Calvin and Hobbes meets Big Nate meets Bone in HILO-the hilarious, action-packed New York Times Bestselling GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES kids AND critics love "A Total BLAST," says the Miami Herald


Orphan Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062443410
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 30th, 2017

"A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true." --Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Girl Who Drank the Moon

For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.


Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545709163
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - January 3rd, 2017

Last Day on Mars Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062306715
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - February 14th, 2017

"Last Day on Mars is thrillingly ambitious and imaginative. Like a lovechild of Gravity and The Martian, it's a rousing space opera for any age, meticulously researched and relentlessly paced, that balances action, science, humor, and most importantly, two compelling main characters in Liam and Phoebe.


Cravings: How I Conquered Food Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780385541312
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nan A. Talese - February 28th, 2017

A no-holds-barred account of folk legend Judy Collins's harrowing struggle with compulsive overeating and of the journey that led her to a solution.


Al Franken, Giant of the Senate Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781455540419
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Twelve - May 30th, 2017

#1 New York Times Bestseller


The Last Painting of Sara De Vos Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250118325
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - April 4th, 2017

A RARE SEVENTEENTH-CENTURY PAINTING LINKS THREE LIVES, ON THREE CONTINENTS, OVER THREE CENTURIES IN "THE LAST PAINTING OF SARA DE VOS," AN EXHILARATING NEW NOVEL FROM DOMINIC SMITH.


The Confusion of Languages Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399158926
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 27th, 2017

A searing debut novel from the award-winning author of You Know When the Men are Gone, about jealousy, the unpredictable path of friendship, and the secrets kept in marriage, all set within the U.S. expat community of the Middle East during the rise of the Arab Spring.

"A gripping, cleverly plotted novel with surprising bite."--Phil Klay


Anatomy of Innocence: Testimonies of the Wrongfully Convicted Cover Image
By Laura Caldwell (Editor), Leslie S. Klinger (Editor), Scott Turow (Introduction by)
$26.95
ISBN: 9781631490880
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - March 28th, 2017

Wrongful convictions, long regarded as statistical anomalies in an otherwise sound justice system, now appear with frightening regularity. But few people understand just how or why they happen and, more important, the immeasurable consequences that often haunt the lucky few who are acquitted, years after they are proven innocent.


Everything, Everything Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553496673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - March 7th, 2017

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--now a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything . . . for love.


Four-Day Summer Writing Camp, Karen Benke, Monday June 26th - Thursday June 29th, 2017, 9:30am-12:30pm, Book Passage. 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA, 94925


Sustainable Gardening for Kids, Rita LeRoy, Sat., July 15, 2017, 10:00am - 12:00pm, Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925


Jumpstarting the Creative Process for Young Writers, Amanda Conran & Darcey Rosenblatt, 5 Days; Monday August 14 – Friday August 18, 2017, 9 am – 12 pm, Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925