The Other Lands (eBook)


“David Anthony Durham has serious chops. I can’t wait to read whatever he writes next."
—George R. R. Martin

David Anthony Durham’s gripping Acacia Trilogy continues with an epic novel where loyalties are tested, new worlds are discovered, and battle lines are being drawn.
A few years have passed since Queen Corinn has usurped control of the Known World—and she now rules with an iron fist. With plans to expand her empire, she sends her brother, Dariel, on an exploratory mission across the sea to The Other Lands. There, he discovers an alliance of tribes that have no interest in being ruled by Queen Corinn and the Akarans. In fact, Dariel’s arrival ignites a firestorm that once more exposes The Known World to a massive invasion, one unlike anything they have yet faced . . .

About the Author

DAVID ANTHONY DURHAM earned an MFA from the University of Maryland and is the author of Gabriel's Story, Walk Through Darkness, Pride of Carthage, and Acacia. Durham lives with his wife and children in California and teaches writing at the University of California, Fresno.

Praise for The Other Lands…

“A big, fat, rich piece of history-flavored fantasy. . . . Imagined with remarkable thoroughness.” —Time“A novel of large impact, as radical a rewriting of George R. R. Martin as Martin himself has performed on Tolkien.” —Locus “Thrilling. . . . Durham's new world-like our old one-is crawling with wickedly fascinating [characters].” —Entertainment Weekly

Product Details ISBN-13: 9780385532112
Published: Anchor, 09/15/2009
Language: en

View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs