The Edge of Nowhere (eBook)


Description


The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author!

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

About the Author


Elizabeth George is the author of more than twenty books for adults. She lives in Seattle, Washington.

Praise for The Edge of Nowhere…


"Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre."--USATODAY.com

"The atmosphere of rich introspection gives this series opener strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin."--BCCB

"This novel explores what people can learn about each other when they look past behavior and consider the thoughts that drive it."--LMC

 

Product Details ISBN-13: 9781101590584
Published: Puffin, 09/04/2012
Language: en


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs