Half Bad (eBook)


Description


In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.

About the Author


Sally Green lives in north-west England. She has had various jobs and even a profession but in 2010 she discovered a love of writing and now just can’t stop. She used to keep chickens, makes decent jam, doesn't mind ironing, loves to walk in Wales even when it's raining, and will probably never jog again. She really ought to drink less coffee. Half Bad is her first novel. 

Praise for Half Bad…


A Spring 2014 Kids' Indie Next List pick
Booklist's Top 10 SF/Fantasy/Horror for Youth

"[A] grim and thrilling tale . . . an unforgettable protagonist"—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A horrifying, compelling trilogy that pushes the boundaries of what we believe to be good and evil. . . . Nathan's survival is tenuous and marvelous—and only just beginning."—Booklist, starred review

"Highly entertaining and dangerously addictive"—Time Magazine

"Half Bad makes stubborn, sly, near-illiterate Nathan genuinely engaging." —New York Times

 "Green's Half Bad is much more than a book about witches. Her page-turner is a ruminative exploration of the nature of evil."—The Boston Globe
"Energetic, gripping." —School Library Journal

"Nathan’s harrowing quest to build a father-son relationship will compel readers to the sequel."—Kirkus Reviews

"Rewards readers with a compelling story with plenty yet to resolve and a main character worth following in future installments." —The Horn Book

Product Details ISBN-13: 9780698143760
Published: Viking Children's, 03/04/2014
Language: en


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs