Half Bad (eBook)


Description


In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.

About the Author


Sally Green lives in north-west England. She has had various jobs and even a profession but in 2010 she discovered a love of writing and now just can’t stop. She used to keep chickens, makes decent jam, doesn't mind ironing, loves to walk in Wales even when it's raining, and will probably never jog again. She really ought to drink less coffee. Half Bad is her first novel. 

Praise for Half Bad…


Praise and accolades for Half Bad
 
"Highly entertaining and dangerously addictive."—Time Magazine
 
“Genuinely engaging.”—The New York Times
 
“Gripping.”—US Weekly
 
“Bewitching.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Captivating.”— Los Angeles Times

 "A page-turner."—The Boston Globe

"An epic journey."—D.J. MacHale, New York Times bestselling author of Pendragon and Sylo
 
"Brilliant and utterly compelling." —Kate Atkinson, New York Times bestselling author of Life After Life

"This will haunt you." —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of Legend

"Edgy, arresting and brilliantly written." —Michael Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Gone

* "A thrilling tale . . . Unforgettable."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Marvelous."—Booklist, starred review
 
A Spring 2014 Kids' Indie Next List pick
 
Holder of two Guinness World Records
 
Optioned for film by FOX 2000
 
Rights sold in 50 international markets

Product Details ISBN-13: 9780698143760
Published: Viking Children's, 03/04/2014
Language: en


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs