Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier (eBook)


Description


In Stephanie Barden’s The More the Merrier, middle-grade readers will root for Cinderella Smith the same way they do for Junie B. Jones, Judy Moody, and Clementine.
 
Cinderella takes on mean girls in the second book in the Cinderella Smith series. A clique has formed in her third-grade class, and they don’t want Cinderella in the group. Cinderella and her best friend, Erin, try to figure out what to do about the popular girls while making time to study for the big spelling bee.
 
Parents will appreciate the way the chapter book takes on the serious subject of bullying with a light touch, while emphasizing the importance of having true friends. The book also shows that studying pays off.
 
Engaging illustrations by Caldecott Honor Award winner Diane Goode bring Cinderella to life.

About the Author


In between tripping over abandoned shoes, chasing after escaped pets, and searching for lost belongings, Stephanie Barden wrote her first book, Cinderella Smith, which has been widely praised. She teaches classes at Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle, where she lives with her husband, Tom; son, Joe; and eighty-pound lapdog, Otis.

Praise for Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier…


Fans of Clementine and Ramona will enjoy good-natured Cinderella’s triumph over mean girls and her success at a tap-dance recital, all embellished by Diane Goode’s simple black-line illustrations.
-Seattle Times

“Cinderella’s bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode’s emotive line drawings, is infectious…It’s hard to leave Cinderella behind.
-Horn Book Magazine

“Cinderella’s narration carries this early chapter book, and her upper-elementary woes are perfectly captured in her eager and personable voice… Goode’s energetic sketchwork adds to the spirited narrative.”
-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Funny and clever! Readers will love this modern day Cinderella. It’s a delight…with the most satisfying ending.”
-Patricia Reilly Giff, Newberr Honor winner and author of best-selling Polk Street School series

Goode’s appealing line drawings keep things light and help readers cheer for Cinderella.The invented words, the spelling bee and Cinderella’s voice, which is maturing and becoming more likable, make this a great offering for youngsters who are figuring out the confusing social terrain of third grade
-Kirkus

Cinderella is back and as irrepressible as ever. A simple joy of a book, Barden’s story has given third-graders their very own hero whose final decision of inclusiveness is warming.
-Booklist

The plucky heroine is right at home beside Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona. Her experiences are true to life and she remains comfortable in her own skin. Cinderella is an ally to the kids in her class, and might inspire some readers to speak up themselves.
-School Library Journal

“The sweet first-person narrator [and] black-line illustrations by Diane Goode add to the charm.”
-Seattle Times

Product Details ISBN-13: 9780062114310
Published: HarperCollins, 04/24/2012
Language: en


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs