Corte Madera Events

Mark Nepo - Things That Join the Sea and the Sky (Corte Madera)

Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 7:00pm

The Universe holds us and tosses us about, only to hold us again. With Things That Join the Sea and the Sky, Mark Nepo brings us a compelling treasury of short prose reflections to turn to when struggling to keep our heads above water, and to breathe into all of our sorrows and joys.

Inspired by his own journal writing across 15 years, this book shares with us some of Mark's most personal work. Many passages arise from accounts of his own life events--moments of "sinking and being lifted" -- and the insights they yielded. Through these passages, we're encouraged to navigate our own currents of sea and sky, and to discover something fundamental yet elusive: How, simply, to be here.

Mark Nepo is a poet and philosopher who has taught in the fields of poetry and spirituality for over 35 years. A New York Times #1 bestselling author, he has published 19 books and recorded 14 audio projects. Mark has been interviewed three times by Oprah Winfrey as part of her Soul Series radio show, and was interviewed by Robin Roberts on Good Morning America. As a cancer survivor, Mark devotes his writing and teaching to the journey of inner transformation and the life of relationship. Mark's work is widely accessible and used in spiritual retreats, healing and medical communities, and more. His work has been translated into 20 languages, and he continues to offer readings, lectures, and retreats.

 

Things That Join the Sea and the Sky: Field Notes on Living Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781622038992
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sounds True - November 1st, 2017

A Reader for Navigating the Depths of Our Lives

The Universe holds us and tosses us about, only to hold us again. With Things That Join the Sea and the Sky, Mark Nepo brings us a compelling treasury of short prose reflections to turn to when struggling to keep our heads above water, and to breathe into all of our sorrows and joys.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Class: Anne Lamott - On Writing (Corte Madera)

Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 1:00pm

Sat., May 12 • 1:00 - 4:00 pm • $160

Join Anne Lamott, the bestselling author of Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life, for an afternoon that includes an onstage interview, a lecture, and a Q&A session. Anne Lamott offers advice on the writing process, while also touching upon the experiences of the writer and the writing life. Writers working at all levels are encouraged to learn from one of the great writers of our time. Anne Lamott taught the first Book Passage writing class almost two decades ago. It’s a joy to welcome her back.

Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780385480017
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - September 1st, 1995

"A warm, generous and hilarious guide through the writer's world and its treacherous swamps." --Los Angeles Times
Advice on writing and on life from an acclaimed bestselling author:


Small Victories: Spotting Improbable Moments of Grace Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781594486296
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - November 10th, 2014

Look out for Anne's latest book, Hallelujah Anyway, on sale now.

New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author of Stitches and Help, Thanks, Wow comes her long-awaited collection of new and selected essays on hope, joy, and grace.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Rahna Reiko Rizzuto - Shadow Child (Corte Madera)

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 7:00pm

For fans of Tayari Jones and Ruth Ozeki, from National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Rahna Reiko Rizzuto comes a haunting and suspenseful literary tale set in 1970s New York City and World War II-era Japan, about three strong women, the dangerous ties of family and identity, and the long shadow our histories can cast.

Twin sisters Hana and Kei grew up in a tiny Hawaiian town in the 1950s and 1960s, so close they shared the same nickname. Raised in dreamlike isolation by their loving but unstable mother, they were fatherless, mixed-race, and utterly inseparable, devoted to one another. But when their cherished threesome with Mama is broken, and then further shattered by a violent, nearly fatal betrayal that neither young woman can forgive, it seems their bond may be severed forever--until, six years later, Kei arrives on Hana's lonely Manhattan doorstep with a secret that will change everything.

Told in interwoven narratives that glide seamlessly between the gritty streets of New York, the lush and dangerous landscape of Hawaii, and the horrors of the Japanese internment camps and the bombing of Hiroshima, Shadow Child is set against an epic sweep of history. Volcanos, tsunamis, abandonment, racism, and war form the urgent, unforgettable backdrop of this intimate, evocative, and deeply moving story of motherhood, sisterhood, and second chances.

Rahna Reiko Rizzuto is the author of the memoir Hiroshima in the Morning, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle. Her debut novel, Why She Left Us, won an American Book Award. The first woman to graduate from Columbia College with a BA in Astrophysics, she was raised in Hawaii and lives in Brooklyn.

 

Shadow Child Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538711453
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 8th, 2018

For fans of Tayari Jones and Ruth Ozeki, from National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Rizzuto comes a haunting and suspenseful literary tale set in 1970s New York City and World War II-era Japan, about three strong women, the dangerous ties of family and identity, and the long shadow our histories can cast.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Christie Nelson - Beautiful Illusion (Corte Madera)

Saturday, May 19, 2018 - 7:00pm

As the march of boots echoes from overseas, all nations that border the Pacific and beyond are invited to build pavilions on Treasure Island at the Golden Gate International Exposition, an event dedicated to the pursuit of world peace and brotherhood. Meanwhile, Lily Nordby, smart, strong-willed, and feisty, lands a job at the Examiner and is given a once-in-a-lifetime assignment covering the Exposition. There she meets Tokido Okamura, the host of the Japanese Pavilion--and despite being highly suspicious of his true purpose on the island, she's swept up in a whirlwind of powerful emotions that lead her into unknown territory. 

Brilliant and enigmatic Woodrow Packard, a Mayan art scholar at the Expo, prefers remaining aloof and alone. But his infatuation and deepening relationship with Lily thrusts him into the limelight. He asks himself, could someone as smart and beautiful as she return the love of a man who is a dwarf? 

In an attempt to prevent Lily from spiraling into danger, Woodrow intercedes to help her uncover her family's past--but when fate intervenes, they are both pulled into a destiny they could never have imagined. Mixing fact and fiction with a dash of noir, Beautiful Illusion is a story of love and deception that explores what happens when human hearts collide as the world is plotting war. 

Christie Nelson is a third generation San Franciscan, longtime Marin resident, and the author of Woodacre, Dreaming Mill Valley, and My Moveable Feast. She lives in the 1880s brewmeister's home of the San Rafael Brewery with her husband.

Beautiful Illusion Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781631523342
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: She Writes Press - May 1st, 2018

As the march of boots echoes from overseas, all nations that border the Pacific and beyond are invited to build pavilions on Treasure Island at the Golden Gate International Exposition, an event dedicated to the pursuit of world peace and brotherhood.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Pages