San Francisco Events

Independent Bookstore Day 2015

Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Join Book Passage as we celebrate the 2015 edition of Independent Bookstore Day. We'll have limited edition items from contributors like Stephen King, Chris Ware, Anne Lamott, Daniel Handler, and many more! We'll also be having celebrations and special events throughout the day. Keep checking this page for more details as the big day gets closer.

..........................................................................................................................

51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Mina Holland - The World on a Plate

Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 6:00pm

Guardian Cook editor Mina Holland is our tour guide to eating around the world without leaving the kitchen in her first book, The World on a Plate: 40 Cuisines, 100 Recipes, and the Stories Behind Them. Ripe with history, trivia, and lore, tantalizing with authentic but simple recipes, Holland’s book is both an armchair traveler’s introduction to global cuisine as well as a useful companion to any home chef’s recipe book collection.

$20.00
ISBN: 9780143127659
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 26th, 2015

Eat your way around the world without leaving your home in this mouthwatering cultural history of 100 classic dishes.
Best Culinary Travel Book (U.K.), Gourmand World Cookbook Awards


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Mira Jacob - The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing

Monday, June 22, 2015 - 6:00pm

In The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing, when brain surgeon Thomas Eapen decides to cut short a visit to his mother's home in India in 1979, he sets into motion a series of events that will forever haunt him and his wife Kamala, their intellectually precocious son Akhil, and their watchful daughter, Amina.

$16.00
ISBN: 9780812985061
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Trade - June 9th, 2015

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY "THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, BUSTLE, "AND EMILY GOULD, "THE MILLIONS"
For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri comes a winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past.


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Dr. Susan Edelman - Be Your Own Brand of Sexy

Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 6:00pm

Today’s dating culture is a minefield. While trying to navigate tricky dos and don’ts and endless, conflicting dating strategies, women are more confused than ever. And, according to Dr. Susan Edelman, women could be hurting themselves and not even know it. But dating doesn’t have to be filled with angst and disappointment anymore. In her new book, Be Your Own Brand of Sexy: A New Sexual Revolution for Women, Dr.

$22.95
ISBN: 9781942343226
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Not Avail - February 14th, 2015

Psychiatrist Susan L. Edelman unlocks the mystery of why women don t get what they want from men and changes the dating game. She shows women how to reclaim their power by learning what works best for them instead of what they re programmed to believe is normal by our culture. Today's dating culture is a minefield.


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Stephen Yafa - Grain of Truth

Thursday, June 11, 2015 - 6:00pm

Like Michael Pollan before him, Stephen Yafa amiably merges science, history, biology, economics, and the always contentious world of nutritional fact and myth. Grain of Truth does not set out just to bash wheat bashers, but to offer us a viable alternative to going gluten free. Most importantly, Yafa tackles the questions that matter to us, straight on: What’s in gluten that’s so controversial?

$25.95
ISBN: 9781594632495
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Avery Publishing Group - May 12th, 2015

A Pollan-esque look at the truth about wheat: meal or menace?


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Mallika Chopra - Living with Intent

Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 12:30pm

As a mom, wife, and social media entrepreneur, Mallika Chopra frequently wondered how she could possibly do one more thing. Like so many, she was taking lousy care of herself and having a difficult time finding richer meaning and purpose in each day, even though that was her business’s mission. Living with Intent is a practical yet deeply personal look at her year-long journey to discover some workable answers.

By Mallika Chopra, Deepak Chopra (Afterword by), Deepak Chopra (Foreword by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9780804139854
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harmony - April 7th, 2015

"I'm trying to meditate one day but urgent thoughts keep intruding. "Don't forget to take cupcakes to school I have to prepare for my presentation for the wellness conference Is that lunch with the other moms tomorrow or next week?" My to-do list is stampeding through my mind, trampling any chance of tranquility. I feel overwhelmed, yes, but there's more: I feel...guilty.


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Jennifer Chambliss Bertman - Book Scavenger

Saturday, June 6, 2015 - 11:00am

In Book Scavenger, for twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it’s the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles). Upon her arrival, however, Emily learns that Griswold has been attacked and is now in a coma, and no one knows anything about the epic new game he had been poised to launch.

$16.99
ISBN: 9781627791151
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - June 2nd, 2015

For twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it's the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles).


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Dan Ariely - Irrationally Yours

Thursday, May 21, 2015 - 12:30pm

Irrationally Yours: On Missing Socks, Pickup Lines, and Other Existential Puzzles gathers the best of Dan Ariely's “Ask Ariely” Q & A columns along with previously unpublished material and newly expanded answers. Illustrated by famed cartoonist William Haefeli, whose extraordinary artwork complements and enhances the text, this collection showcases Ariely’s inimitable gift for analyzing human nature, identifying where we make mistakes, and suggesting how to achieve better outcomes.

By Dan Ariely, William Haefeli (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062379993
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper Perennial - May 19th, 2015

Three-time New York Times bestselling author Dan Ariely teams up with legendary The New Yorker cartoonist William Haefeli to present an expanded, illustrated collection of his immensely popularWall Street Journal advice column, "Ask Ariely."


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Ashlee Vance - Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future

Friday, May 29, 2015 - 6:00pm

One day, ten years from now, Americans could wake up to the most modern highway in the world: a transit system run by thousands of solar-powered charging stations and transversed by electric cars. We may see launches of rocket ships daily, full of people and things, preparing for longer treks to Mars. And it may all be thanks to South African-born Elon Musk, who is on track to become America’s most innovative industrialist and outlandish thinker ever to set foot in Silicon Valley.

$28.99
ISBN: 9780062301239
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco Press - May 19th, 2015

Elon Musk is the most daring entrepreneur of our time


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Lisa Genova - Inside the O’Briens

Thursday, April 30, 2015 - 6:00pm

In Inside the O'Briens, Joe O’Brien is a forty-four-year-old police officer from the Irish Catholic neighborhood of Charlestown, Massachusetts. A devoted husband, proud father of four children in their twenties, and respected officer, Joe begins experiencing bouts of disorganized thinking, uncharacteristic temper outbursts, and strange, involuntary movements.

$26.00
ISBN: 9781476717777
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery Books - April 7th, 2015

From the "New York Times" bestselling author of "Still Alice" Lisa Genova comes a powerful and transcendent new novel about a family struggling with the impact of Huntington's disease.


1 Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA 94111

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - San Francisco Events