Marin Events

Author Events at our Corte Madera store, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA, (415) 927-0960. All events are free & open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Bruce Henderson - Rescue at Los Baños

Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 7:00pm

For readers of Unbroken and Lost in Shangri-La, #1 New York Times author Bruce Henderson’s latest book, Rescue at Los Baños, proves to be a thrilling work of narrative nonfiction which introduces the reader to a cast of unforgettable characters who endured unthinkable horrors as well as the young soldiers who risked their lives to try to save the beleaguered prisoners.

$39.99
ISBN: 9781481534291
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Audiogo - March 31st, 2015

From the bestselling author of "Hero Found" comes the incredible true story of one of the greatest military rescues of all time, the 1945 World War II prison camp raid at Los Banos in the Philippines a tale of daring, courage, and heroism that joins the ranks of "Ghost Soldiers," "Unbroken," and "The Boys of Pointe du Hoc."


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Keija Parssinen - The Unraveling of Mercy Louis

Tuesday, April 14, 2015 - 7:00pm

In Port Sabine, the air is thick with oil, superstition reigns, and dreams hang on making a winning play. All eyes are on Mercy Louis, the star of the championship girls’ basketball team. Mercy seems destined for greatness, but the road out of town is riddled with obstacles. There is her grandmother, Evelia, a strict evangelical who has visions of an imminent Rapture and sees herself as the keeper of Mercy’s virtue. There are the cryptic letters from the mother who abandoned Mercy at birth. And then there’s Travis, the boy who shakes the foundation of her faith.

$25.99
ISBN: 9780062319098
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper - March 10th, 2015

In this intricate novel of psychological suspense, a chilling discovery near the high school ignites a witch hunt in a southeast texas refinery town, unearthing communal and family secrets that threaten the lives of the town's girls.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Matt Coyle - Night Tremors

Saturday, June 20, 2015 - 4:00pm
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Scott Saul - Becoming Richard Pryor

Monday, March 9, 2015 - 7:00pm

Iconic performer Richard Pryor set a new comedy standard for his generation and all those who have come after. Beloved as he was by audiences, Pryor has proven an elusive quarry for biographers: for all of his openness about his life onstage, he was guarded about the facts of it offstage.

$27.99
ISBN: 9780062123305
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - December 9th, 2014

Richard Pryor may have been the most unlikely star in Hollywood history. Raised in his family's brothels, in Peoria, Illinois, by a grandmother who often threatened to kick him upstairs with her size-twelve shoes, he always considered himself a bottom dog.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Koorosh Ostowari - The Money Anxiety Cure

Sunday, April 12, 2015 - 11:00am

Uncertainty creates anxiety, and we are engaged in a modern collective anxiety known as “money anxiety disorder.” Money anxiety disorder lies at the heart of so many of the disruptions that occur in our lives, our society, and our world. It can be triggered by events like fluctuations in the marketplace, job loss, employment instability, divorce, or even just struggling to stay on budget. Like the economy itself, our anxiety about money fluctuates. But we don’t have to be at the mercy of it. We can learn to cope with unpredictable financial times and silence our panic.

$14.95
ISBN: 9781939116369
Availability: Special Order
Published: Waterfront Digital Press - May 1st, 2013
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Carolyn Hobbs - Free Yourself

Sunday, March 8, 2015 - 7:00pm

In an encouraging, uplifting voice, therapist Carolyn Hobbs draws from her years of counseling experience and her spiritual practice to present the liberating truth: each of us has within ourselves the power to release ourselves from fear, from past traumas, from our ingrained habits of mistrust and defensiveness. Warm and inspiring, Free Yourself maps the path to lasting peace and freedom—a path that absolutely anyone can follow.

By Carolyn Hobbs, James Baraz (Foreword by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781614290810
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wisdom Publications (MA) - October 7th, 2014
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Elizabeth Evans - As Good as Dead

Tuesday, April 28, 2015 - 7:00pm

At the high-octane Iowa Writers' Workshop, small-town Charlotte is thrilled and confounded by her relationship with charismatic and sophisticated Esmé: One moment, Esmé appears to be Charlotte's most intimate friend; the next, her rival. After a tumultuous weekend, Charlotte's insecurities and her resentment toward Esmé reach a fever pitch. Blindly, Charlotte strikes out-in an act of betrayal that ultimately unleashes a cascade of calamities on her own head. Twenty years later, Charlotte is a successful novelist.

$26.00
ISBN: 9781620402986
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - March 3rd, 2015

At the high-octane Iowa Writers' Workshop, small-town Charlotte is thrilled and confounded by her relationship with charismatic and sophisticated Esme One moment, Esme appears to be Charlotte's most intimate friend; the next, her rival. After a tumultuous weekend, Charlotte's insecurities and her resentment toward Esme reach a fever pitch.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, CA 94925

Cooks with Books: Rebecca Katz - The Healthy Mind Cookbook

Sunday, March 29, 2015 - 12:30pm

Left Bank in Larkspur • Single $110; Couple $175 (one book)

 

 

Chef Rebecca Katz, author of the award winning cookbooks The Cancer Fighting Kitchen and The Longevity Kitchen, harnesses the latest research about food and brain function in her new cookbook The Healthy Mind Cookbook: Big Flavor Recipes to Enhance Brain Function, Mood, Memory, and Mental Clarity. Katz’s cookbook shares how the food we consume can improve the brain’s ability to control cognition, emotion and physical function - hence mood, memory and motion. Katz has worked with many leaders in the field, including Andrew Weil, Deepak Chopra, Michael Lerner and Dean Ornish. She is the Director of the Healing Kitchens Institute at Commonweal as well as the executive chef at the annual Food as Medicine training program sponsored by the Center for the Mind Body Medicine at Georgetown Medical School.

The ticket includes the meal, wine, tax, tip, and a signed copy of the book. 

 

$29.99
ISBN: 9781607742975
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - February 10th, 2015

A collection of more than 120 recipes formulated to optimize brain health, boost memory, improve mood, sharpen the central nervous system, and more.
Feed your mind.


Left Bank
507 Magnolia Avenue
Larkspur, CA 94939

Amy Scheibe - A Fireproof Home for the Bride

Tuesday, April 7, 2015 - 7:00pm

In A Fireproof Home for the Bride, Emmaline Nelson and her sister Birdie grow up in the hard, cold rural Lutheran world of strict parents, strict milking times, and strict morals. Marriage is preordained, the groom practically predestined. Though it’s 1958, southern Minnesota did not see changing roles for women on the horizon. Caught in a time bubble between a world war and the ferment of the 1960’s, Emmy doesn’t see that she has any say in her life, any choices at all. Only when Emmy’s fiancé shows his true colors and forces himself on her does she find the courage to act—falling instead for a forbidden Catholic boy, a boy whose family seems warm and encouraging after the sere Nelson farm life. Not only moving to town and breaking free from her engagement but getting a job on the local newspaper begins to open Emmy’s eyes. She discovers that the KKK is not only active in the Midwest but that her family is involved, and her sense of the firm rules she grew up under—and their effect—changes completely.

Amy Scheibe is the author of the novel, What Do You Do All Day? She has written for Dame Magazine, Seattle Weekly, and many other publications. Born in Minnesota and reared in North Dakota, she now lives in New York City with her husband and two children.

$26.99
ISBN: 9781250049674
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 10th, 2015

Emmaline Nelson and her sister Birdie grow up in the hard, cold rural Lutheran world of strict parents, strict milking times, and strict morals. Marriage is preordained, the groom practically predestined. Though it's 1958, southern Minnesota did not see changing roles for women on the horizon.


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, 94925

Fayette Fox - The Deception Artist

Sunday, March 15, 2015 - 4:00pm

In The Deception Artist, eight-year-old Ivy has a vivid imagination and tells lies so that people will like her. With her brother, Brice, in the hospital, life at home feels unsettled and things become even more strained after her father loses his job, along with his sense of purpose. Ivy's parents might divorce and her best friend hates her but, ever creative, she abandons her escapist fantasies and determines to uncover the truth. In this sharp and funny literary debut set in Northern California during the 1980s recession, Fayette Fox delves deep into the dark heart of an ordinary American familyand finds out that make-believe isn't just for kids.

Fayette Fox holds an MA in Publishing from the London College of Communication and a BA in Creative Writing from Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts. A freelance writer and former commissioning editor for Lonely Planet, Fayette has been commissioned by travel websites Openplaces and TripAdvisor.com. This is her first novel.

 

 

$15.95
ISBN: 9781938901362
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Roaring Forties Press - March 17th, 2015

Who needs the truth?


51 Tamal Vista Blvd
Corte Madera, 94925

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Marin Events