Corte Madera Events

Author Events at our Corte Madera store, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA, (415) 927-0960. All events are free & open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Carol Scott - Optimal Stress: Living in Your Best Stress Zone

Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 2:00pm
Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy


Carol Scott
talks about Optimal Stress: Living in Your Best Stress Zone ($24.95). Dr. Scott draws on the stories of scores of women, as well as on her own experience with stress-related illness. She analyzes the latest in medical research with the realities of modern life, helping you design your own stress-management program.

Optimal Stress: Living in Your Best Stress Zone Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780470068519
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wiley (TP) - November 1st, 2009

Find the optimal level of stress and wellness for your life and career-the essential guide for women


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Linda Watanabe McFerrin - Dead Love

Friday, September 10, 2010 - 7:00pm
Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy (paperback)
Order a signed copy (special edition hardcover)


Left Coast Writers Launch!

Linda Watanabe McFerrin talks about her supernatural thriller Dead Love ($14.95 paperback/ $26.95 special edition hardcover). It begins when Clément, a lovesick ghoul, falls for beautiful young Erin. Unfortunately, she is marked for death by the Japanese mob (the yakuza). Using secrets learned from a Haitian witchdoctor, and taking us to Tokyo, Amsterdam, and Malaysia, Clément finds a way to rescue and possess her—but not at all in the manner he expected!

This globalized manga turned literature is Twilight with teeth. Vivid storytelling and unforgettable characters unite to delight adults and younger readers with an interest in the otherworldly, proving once and for all that that if the undead have their way, love will never die!

Read Wendy Nelson Tokunaga's interview with McFerrin about Dead Love.

Visit the Dead Love Web site at http://www.deadlovebook.com/.
Dead Love Cover Image
ISBN: 9781933330914
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Stone Bridge Press - October 12th, 2010

"Delightfully disgusting, Dead Love is the new horror genre at its best. Fans of Twilight, World War Z, and Neil Gaiman will devour this fine novel whole."ForeWord Magazine


Dead Love Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781933330907
Availability: Special Order
Published: Stone Bridge Press - October 1st, 2010

Zombies, ghouls, vampires, gangsters; pursuit, betrayal, death—it's a globalized manga turned literature. Dead Love is Twilight with teeth.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Terry Laszlo-Gopadze & Contributors - The Spirit of a Woman: Stories to Empower and Inspire

Wednesday, September 8, 2010 - 7:00pm

Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy

Terry Laszlo-Gopadze and contributors talk about The Spirit of a Woman: Stories to Empower and Inspire ($16.95). Combining storytelling and honesty for those who seek spiritually optimistic guidance, this is a compilation of stories of female creativity and compassion.


The Spirit of a Woman: Stories to Empower and Inspire Cover Image
By Terry Laszlo-Gopadze (Editor), Nichola Moss (Illustrator), Angeles Arrien (Foreword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781595800527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Santa Monica Press - June 15th, 2010

Combining storytelling and courageous honesty for those who seek spiritually optimistic guidance, this compilation of inspiring stories of female creativity and compassion demonstrates the art of storytelling at its best. Consisting of approximately two dozen nonfiction essays--by authors such as Rev. Lauren Artress, Christina Baldwin, Bobbi Gibb, Mama Donna Henes, Jyoti, Dr.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

David Finkel - The Good Soldiers

Wednesday, September 8, 2010 - 1:00pm
Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy


Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter David Finkel discusses The Good Soldiers ($15.00). In January 2007, President George W. Bush announced a new strategy for Iraq. It became known as “the surge.” Among those called to carry it out were the young, optimistic army infantry soldiers of the 2-16. This is a deeply illuminating chronicle of their tour.


The Good Soldiers Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780312430023
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - August 3rd, 2010

The Prequel to the Bestselling Thank You for Your Service, Now a Major Motion Picture

With The Good Soldiers, Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter David Finkel has produced an eternal story -- not just of the Iraq War, but of all wars, for all time.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Rhys Bowen - Royal Blood

Tuesday, September 7, 2010 - 7:00pm
Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy


Launch Party!

Rhys Bowen presents Royal Blood ($24.95). Penniless and 34th in line to the throne, Lady Georgiana Rannoch finds herself in a draining state of affairs. To escape her hateful brother, she accepts an invitation from the Queen to represent the royals at a wedding in Transylvania. But at the macabre-looking castle, Georgie finds a bloody bride!



Royal Blood Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780425234464
Availability: Special Order
Published: Berkley Hardcover - September 7th, 2010

With her hateful brother Binky in town, Lady Georgiana has been desperately seeking an escape. So when an invitation from the Queen arrives to represent the royals at a wedding in Transylvani-legendary home of vampires-Georgiana is delighted to accept.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Dennis Portnoy - Riding the Point Reyes Equestrian Trails

Sunday, September 12, 2010 - 7:00pm

Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy

Dennis Portnoy talks about Riding the Point Reyes Equestrian Trails (Written by Horse and Rider) ($22.00). The variety and beauty of the Pt. Reyes National Seashore is one of Marin County’s treasures. There are over 70,000 acres of trails. Riding the Pt. Reye’s Equestrian Trails is more then just a guide book.

What’s so wonderful about this guide is that it is both informative and entertaining. Dennis Portnoy and his horse Phily describe the trails from both of their perspectives. They give detailed information about each trail, shortcuts to waterfalls, lakes, and beaches, great spots to stop for lunch, colorful photographs, readable maps and even poetry. This guide is ideal for horse lovers, hikers and those who are interested in the horse-human relationship. It can fit in your pocket or saddlebag.

By Dennis Portnoy

The trails in Point Reyes are incredibly beautiful and varied, with over 150 miles of trails, roads, and 70,000 acres of land. One rides through forests, sees breathtaking ocean views, and has access to beaches. This book presents the trails and conditions from both Portnoy’s and his horse Phily’s perspectives.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Sisters in Crime Tea Party - with Penny Warner, Hailey Lind, Terri Thayer & Rita Lakin

Saturday, September 4, 2010 - 2:00pm
Free Event - Open to the Public
Corte Madera store

Join us for a tea party!
Penny Warner
discusses How to Crash a Killer Bash ($6.99). Hailey Lind presents Arsenic and Old Paint ($14.95). Terri Thayer presents False Impressions ($7.99). Rita Lakin talks about Getting Old is Tres Dangereux ($7.99).

Arsenic and Old Paint Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781564744906
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Perseverance Press - September 9th, 2010

Former art forger Annie Kincaid has been operating a legitimate decorative painting business for quite a while, but memories are long in the art world. Now, with the blessing of the FBI Art Squad, Annie's using her underworld connections to boost her new art investigation business, where she's partnered with none other than ex-art thief/ love interest Michael X. Johnson.


False Impressions Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780425235553
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Prime Crime - August 3rd, 2010

Third in the Stamping Sisters mystery series.

Professional rubber stamper April Buchert is shocked to discover that the brother of one of the Stamping Sisters faked his own death, only to really die in a tragic car accident-that was not an accident at all. Now this heated family drama could cause one cold winter if the killer isn't found.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Frances Lefkowitz - To Have Not

Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 2:00pm
Corte Madera store
Order a signed copy

Frances Lefkowitz
discusses her memoir To Have Not ($14.50). Lefkowitz reflects on her own life of poverty. A poor white girl from 1970s San Francisco, she tries to escape her upbringing through an Ivy League scholarship, only to realize that upward mobility is not all it’s cracked up to be.


To Have Not Cover Image
$14.50
ISBN: 9781596923546
Availability: Special Order
Published: MacAdam/Cage Publishing - March 1st, 2010

Poverty has many guises: a lack of money, of course, but it can also be a lack of love or choice, pleasure or safety, faith or confidence or possibility. Poverty seeps into the soul and deadens the spirit. In "To Have Not, " Frances Lefkowitz reflects on her own life of poverties.


Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Annual Members Only Reception and Book Talk with Elaine Petrocelli

Saturday, October 16, 2010 - 4:00pm
For Friends of Book Passage Members
Corte Madera store
Register to become a member


Join us for our Annual Friends of Book Passage Members Only Reception and Book Talk with Elaine Petrocelli.
 

This special annual event is very popular and shouldn’t be missed! The talk is open to current members and to those who
register to become a member before or on the day of the talk. Meet us in the Gallery in Book Passage Part II in Corte Madera at 4:00 pm.
Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

30%-off Members Only Sale

Saturday, August 21, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm

For Friends of Book Passage Members
Corte Madera & San Francisco stores, All Day
Register to become a member

Join us for our semi-annual 30%-off Members Only Sale. We will get started at 9:00 am and continue all day until 9:00 pm (7:00 pm San Francisco store). The sale is open to current members & to those who sign up before or on the day of the sale. This is a very special day in that it is part of Local Authors Weekend in Corte Madera, and will include a Members Only Wine Reception in the Event Room from 5:30 pm – 7:00 pm.

Featured Authors Include:

1:00 pm: Destiny Kinal discusses her historical novel Burning Silk

2:00 pm: Jeanne Walker Harvey presents her nonfiction children’s book
Astro the Steller Sea Lion
 
4:00 pm: Sondra Barrett talks about Wine’s Hidden Beauty

7:00 pm: Terry Sue Harms tells us about the Pearls My Mother Wore

We hope that all Friends of Book Passage will join us for this fun-filled day!!

Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd
94925 Corte Madera
us

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Corte Madera Events