The Duel (Paperback)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


About This Book
"Hate you " Laevsky said quietly, breathing heavily. "I've hated you a long time ""
This new translation of the literary masterpiece-- which combines a beautiful romance with high suspense-- is here presented for the first time as a stand-alone volume.
One of Chekhov's most important lengthy works, this remarkable story gives a startling twist to his classic, ongoing study of bourgeois romance when he sets it on a collision course with a decaying, Czarist concept of honor. It ends in the ultimate Chekhovian observation: that fate is often ludicrous.
This Is A Melville House "HybridBook"
HybridBooks are a union of print and electronic media: Purchasers of this print edition also receive Illuminations--additional illustrated material that expand the world of Chekhov's novella through text and illustrations--at no additional charge.
To obtain the Illuminations for "The Duel "by Anton Chekhov, simply scan the QR code (or follow a url) found at the back of the print book, which leads to a page where you can download a file for your preferred electronic reading device.

"Illuminations" contains writings by Mikhail Lermontov - Ivan Goncharov - Alexander Pushkin - Herbert Spencer - Friedrich Nietzsche - Jack London - Thomas Paine - Francis Bacon - Charles McKay - And a guide to the game of vint.
Full-color illustrations include: William Hogarth - James Joseph Tissot - Jan Steen - "The Shahnameh" and more.
Also Included: "Against The Duel: Writing In Protest of Dueling.

About the Author

Anton Chekhov (1860-1904), Russian physician, dramatist and author, is considered to be one of the greatest writers of short stories and modern drama. Born in Taganrog, a port town near the Black Sea, he attended medical school at Moscow University. He began writing to supplement his income, writing short humorous sketches of contemporary Russian life. A successful literary careered followed, before his premature death of TB at the age of 44. He is best-remembered for his four dramatic masterpieces: "The Seagull" (1896), "Uncle Vanya" (1899), "Three Sisters" (1901) and "The Cherry Orchard" (1904).

Praise For…

 "I would save it from a burning house before everything else I've ever read." -- David Mitchell, author of Cloud Atlas

Product Details
ISBN: 9781935554509
ISBN-10: 1935554506
Publisher: Melville House Publishing
Publication Date: August 16th, 2011
Pages: 161
Language: English