A Free Life: Unabridged Value-Priced Edition (Compact Disc)

Special Order - Subject to Availability


Introducing the Wu family—father Nan, mother Pingping, and son Taotao. We meet them as they arrange to fully sever ties with China in the aftermath of the 1989 massacre at Tiananmen Square, and to begin a new, free life in the United States. At first, their future seems well-assured. Nan's graduate work in political science at Brandeis University ensures him a teaching position. But after the fallout from Tiananmen, his disillusionment turns him toward his first love, poetry. Leaving his studies, he takes on a variety of menial jobs as Pingping works for a wealthy widow as a cook and housekeeper. As Nan struggles to adapt to a new language and culture, his love of poetry and literature sustains him through difficult, lean years. As Pingping and Taotao slowly adjust to American life, Nan still feels a strange attachment to his homeland, though he violently disagrees with Communist policy. But severing all ties—including his love for a woman who rejected him in his youth—proves to be more difficult than he could have ever imagined.

About the Author

Ha Jin was born in China in 1956. His novel Waiting won the National Book Award for fiction as well as the PEN/Faulkner Award in 1999. He lives in the Boston area and is a professor of English at Boston University.

Jason Ma is an accomplished actor and audiobook narrator. He has appeared on and off Broadway in a variety of shows including Miss Saigon, Sly Fox, Shogun the Musical, Prince of Central Park, and Chu Chem.

Product Details ISBN-10: 1602839883
ISBN-13: 9781602839885
Published: AudioGO, 06/01/2010
Language: English

View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs