The Days of Anna Madrigal (Compact Disc)

The Days of Anna Madrigal Cover Image
By Armistead Maupin, Kate Mulgrew (Performed by)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

February 2014 Indie Next List

“Maupin's Tales of the City series has enchanted many over the years. At the center of its fictional 'logical family' - the family you get to choose -- is Anna Madrigal, now 92, a bit unsteady on her pins and frail but still the anchor of this quirky, lovely group of people. As time goes on, Anna feels the need to revisit Winnemucca, Nevada, the home of her youth, to acknowledge her past and secrets too-long hidden. As luck would have it, familiar characters Michael, Ben, Shawna, Jake, and Amos are also heading into the dry flats of Nevada for the Burning Man festival. It is always a treat to read about this community, where what you are does not matter nearly as much as who you are.”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, OR


Suspenseful, comic, and touching, the ninth and final novel in Armistead Maupin s bestselling Tales of the City series follows one of modern literature s most unforgettable and enduring characters Anna Madrigal, the legendary transgender landlady of 28 Barbary Lane on a road trip that will take her deep into her past.

Now a fragile ninety-two years old and committed to the notion of leaving like a lady, Anna Madrigal has seemingly found peace in the bosom of her logical family in San Francisco: her devoted young caretaker, Jake Greenleaf; her former tenant Brian Hawkins; Brian s daughter Shawna; and Michael Tolliver and Mary Ann Singleton, who have known and loved Anna for nearly four decades.

Some members of Anna s family are bound for the otherworldly landscape of Burning Man, the art community in the Black Rock Desert of Nevada where sixty thousand revelers will build a temporary city (Michael calls it a Fellini carnival on Mars ) designed to last only a week. Anna herself has another Nevada destination in mind: a lonely stretch of road outside of Winnemucca where the sixteen-year-old boy she used to be ran away from the whorehouse he called home. With Brian and his beat-up RV, she journeys into the dusty troubled heart of her Depression-era childhood, where she begins to unearth a lifetime of secrets and dreams, and to attend to unfinished business she has long avoided.

About the Author

Armistead Maupin is the author of the nine-volume Tales of the City series, which includes Tales of the City, More Tales of the City, Further Tales of the City, Babycakes, Significant Others, Sure of You, Michael Tolliver Lives, Mary Ann in Autumn, and now The Days of Anna Madrigal. Maupin's other novels include Maybe the Moon and The Night Listener. Maupin was the 2012 recipient of the Lambda Literary Foundation's Pioneer Award. He lives in San Francisco with his husband, the photographer Christopher Turner.

Kate Mulgrew has performed on stage in Shaw, Shakespeare, and Tennessee Williams; she has starred in such films as A Stranger is Watching and Round Numbers; she has also done considerable work on television.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781482991253
ISBN-10: 148299125X
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Publication Date: January 21st, 2014
Pages: 6
Language: English
Series: Tales of the City Novels (Audio)