Ordinary Grace (Paperback)

$16.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From "New York Times "bestselling author William Kent Krueger comes a "pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative" (Dennis Lehane) novel about a young man, a small town, and murder.
New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson's Drugstore, and "Hot Stuff "comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder.
Frank begins the season preoccupied with the concerns of any teenage boy, but when tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family, which includes his Methodist minister father, his passionate, artistic mother, Juilliard-bound older sister, and wise-beyond-his-years kid brother--he finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal.
Told from Frank's perspective forty years after that fateful summer, "Ordinary Grace" is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of adulthood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. Ultimately, it is a story of "redemptive grace and mercy...A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike" ("Kirkus Reviews," starred review).

About the Author


William Kent Krueger is the award-winning author of twelve previous Cork O’Connor novels, including Northwest Angle and Trickster’s Point, as well as the novel Ordinary Grace. He lives in the Twin Cities with his family. Visit his website at WilliamKentKrueger.com.

Praise for Ordinary Grace…


eoeA pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative examination of violent loss. In Frank Drum's journey away from the shores of childhoode"a journey from which he can never returne"we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and it's 'wisdoms.' I loved this book.e
-Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day

eoeA respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork Oe(TM) Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.e

eoe...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.e

eoeOnce in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is Ordinary GraceeThis is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile.e

eoeOne cannot read Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece.e

eoeMy best read so far this year.e

eoeA thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Done(TM)t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.e

eoeNot often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.e

eoeOrdinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.e

eoeTheree(TM)s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated by this booke(TM)s ordinary grace.e

eoeA superb literary novel.e

eoe...the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.e

eoeEverything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschyluse(TM)s epigram is beautiful and youe(TM)ll think about it long after youe(TM)re finished reading.e

eoeI realized within pages this would be one of the best books Ie(TM)ve read in recent years. The gathering threat and its consummation are satisfying and meaningful. This is an intelligent and compelling story told with great heart.... A perfect book club read, truly a book to love and read more than once. Absolutely recommended.e

eoeBesides being a terrific story that examines a powerful range of human experiences and emotions, it was the authentic voice of the teenage narrator, Frank Drum, that kept me reading late into the night. Though the tone is quiet, Krueger artfully layered the story with suspenseful examinations of family life, death, fury, spiritual fiber and redemption.e
-Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

Product Details ISBN-10: 1451645856
ISBN-13: 9781451645859
Published: Atria Books, 03/04/2014
Pages: 336
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs