The Conviction (Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
Not Yet Published

Description


A high-octane thriller by a New York Times bestselling author and “master of courtroom suspense” (Lisa Gardner) about a father who takes the law into his own hands to save his son who is trapped in a juvenile detention center from hell.

Lawyer David Sloane is desperate to get through to his troubled teenage son Jake. Still reeling from the devastating loss of his mother in a brutal murder, Jake has spiraled out of control and Sloane can barely keep him out of jail. So when his old friend, detective Tom Molia, suggests that they take their sons on a camping trip, Sloane accepts.

What Sloane imagines will be the perfect excursion turns into a nightmare when the boys are arrested for vandalizing a general store late at night while their fathers are asleep. The next morning, before Sloane and Molia even realize they’re gone, their sons are convicted and sentenced to six months in the county wilderness detention camp, Fresh Start. For the teenagers, a grueling physical and psychological ordeal begins.

As Sloane fights the conviction against the boys, he discovers that local judge Earl Boykin’s authority seems to extend far beyond the confines of his courtroom. With their legal options exhausted, Sloane and Molia will do anything to save their sons—even mount a daring rescue operation that could win the boys their freedom…or cost all of them their lives.

About the Author


Robert Dugoni has practiced as a civil litigator in San Francisco and Seattle for seventeen years. In 1999 he left his law practice to write full time. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Stanford University with a degree in journalism and worked as a reporter for the Los Angeles Times before obtaining his doctorate of jurisprudence from the University of California at Los Angeles School of Law. A two-time winner of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association Literary Contest, he lives with his wife and two children in the Pacific Northwest.

Praise for The Conviction…


“One of the best legal thriller writers in the business unleashes another stellar effort. . . . The names John Grisham and Scott Turow are mentioned when discussing the legal thriller genre. Robert Dugoni is as good, if not better.” —Associated Press

“Dugoni is at his best in the action scenes, which are the foundation of his narrative. Fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow will be pleased with this offering.” Library Journal

“An exhilarating story that is crisply written and full of unexpected plot twists.”Tucson Citizen

“Serves up the perfect mix of action, emotion and courtroom drama, so much so that The Conviction isn’t just the best legal thriller of the year, it’s one of the best thrillers period.” Author Magazine

“Dugoni moves the thrill into the courtroom. Think Grisham. Think Baldacci. Or think Dugoni.” Asbury Park Press

Product Details ISBN-10: 1451606737
ISBN-13: 9781451606737
Published: Pocket Books, 05/01/2015
Pages: 432
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs