The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Large Print / Hardcover)

$32.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

July 2013 Indie Next List


“n the early 1930's, nine young University of Washington students are part of the rowing crew striving to achieve the final pick to become the team to represent the USA at the 1936 Olympic Games in Berlin as Hitler brazenly builds his Third Reich. Fiercely determined by the hard times of the Great Depression, this is an emotional story of the crew and those who put their trust in them as they put their hearts into 'sculpting”
— Carol Hicks, Bookshelf At Hooligan Rocks, Truckee, CA

Description


For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken" comes the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics. Brown draws on the team's own journals, photos, and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream.

About the Author


Daniel James Brown grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and attended Diablo Valley College, the University of California at Berkeley, and UCLA. He taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford before becoming a technical writer and editor. He now writes narrative nonfiction books full-time. Daniel and his wife live outside of Seattle, Washington.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781410459541
ISBN-10: 1410459543
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: July 17th, 2013
Pages: 743
Language: English