Huck: The Remarkable True Story of How One Lost Puppy Taught a Family---And a Whole Town---About Hope and Happy Endings (Compact Disc)

By Janet Elder, Karen White (Narrated by)
$34.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In the tradition of Dewey, A Lion Called Christian, and Homer's Odyssey, Huck is an unforgettable true story of a lost puppy and a family who learned a valuable lesson about tenacity, faith, and the generosity of strangers.

About the Author


JANET ELDER was graduated summa cum laude from the University of Texas in Austin with a B.A. in English and Latin. She is a member of Phi Beta Kappa. She was the recipient of a government fellowship for Southern Methodist University's Reading Research Program, which resulted in a master's degree. Her Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction in reading is from Texas Woman's University where the College of Education presented her the Outstanding Dissertation Award. She established the first comprehensive secondary reading program in the Dallas Independent School District, and has conducted extensive staff development training for Dallas area teachers. After teaching reading and study skills courses at Richland for several years, she was asked to develop and implement an honors program for the college. After coordinating the honors program during its first six years, she resumed teaching full time. In addition to teaching reading courses, Dr. Elder periodically serves on interdisciplanary teaching teams for honors English and humanities courses. She has served on a task force that re-evaluated Richland's writing-across-the-curriculum program. She has twice received the Extra Mile Award from special services (disabilities) students, has twice been her division's Piper Award nominee for excellence in teaching, and in 1993 received an Excellence Award from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development. In 1999 she was one of three nominees for Richland's Excellence in Teaching Award. A frequent presenter at professional conferences and inservice workshops, she has a deep interest and expertise in "brain friendly" instruction.

Karen White has been narrating audiobooks since 1999, with more than two hundred to her credit. Honored to be included in "AudioFile"'s Best Voices and "Speaking of Audiobooks"'s Best Romance Audio 2012 and 2013, she is also an Audie Award finalist and has earned multiple "AudioFile" Earphones Awards and "Library Journal" starred reviews.

Praise For…


"It's a modern-day myth that happened to be true. It's a story in which wonderful things occurred because people believed in themselves and in each other. It's a story about the power of love to change our world." ---Caroline Kennedy

Product Details
ISBN: 9781400118557
ISBN-10: 1400118557
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Publication Date: September 28th, 2010
Language: English