Ten Rules for Living with My Sister (Paperback)

$6.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Pearl’s older sister, Lexie, is in eighth grade and has a boyfriend. Pearl’s only boyfriend is the family’s crabby cat, Bitey. Lexie is popular. Pearl is not, mostly because of the embarrassing Three Bad Things that happened in school and which no one has forgotten. Everything Pearl does seems to drive Lexie crazy. On top of that, their grandfather is moving into their family’s apartment and taking over Pearl’s room. How will these sisters share without driving each other crazy?

Pearl is good at making lists of rules, but sometimes, life doesn’t play by the rules!

About the Author


Ann M. Martin is the author of the novels Belle Teal, A Corner of the Universe (winner of the Newbery Honor), Here Today, and A Dog s Life, as well as the Doll People novels (written with Laura Godwin and illustrated by Brian Selznick); the novels P.S. Longer Letter Later and Snail Mail No More, written with Paula Danziger, and the Baby-Sitters Club and Main Street series. Ann lives in upstate New York with her beloved dog, Sadie, whose mother was a stray, and several rescued cats.

Praise For…


Praise for Ten Rules for Living with My Sister:

 

“The imaginative, artistic Pearl is a likable character, and girls with sisters will easily recognize themselves in either Pearl or Lexie.” —BCCB

 

Ten Rules is a fun read with a relatable young narrator.” —Shelf Awareness for Readers

“The book will undoubtedly appeal most to younger girls, and would make a delightful shared read-aloud between parent and child, or grandparent and grandchild.” —VOYA

“Martin’s expertise at capturing a character’s authentic voice brings a high level of depth and meaning to this work.” —School Library Journal

 

“Ann M. Martin gives us the real deal in this easy-to-read, eventful novel.” —ReadKiddoRead.com

 

“Martin, from her Baby-sitters Club days, knows all the ins and outs of Pearl’s demographic, and the nine-year-old’s travails will surely resonate with the intended audience.” —The Horn Book Magazine

 

 

Praise for Everything for a Dog:

A Kirkus Best Book of 2009
A Book Page Best Book of 2009


* “[Martin] artfully alternates and gradually weaves together threads from the canine and human tales until the three stories converge in time and space into a completely heartwarming and satisfying finale. Essential fare for fans of the perfectly crafted canine tale.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

* “Beautifully crafted . . . Each point of view is compelling on its own, but the smooth convergence of the characters’ heart-wrenching histories shows exceptional engineering and artistry. Animal lovers of all ages will cherish this moving tale of man’s—or in this case, boy’s—best friend.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

“This is a sensitive, gentle read that surrounds its occasional heartbreak with plenty of hope and warm feelings.” —Booklist

 

“This is a touching and ultimately happy story that will appeal to fans of Phyllis Reynolds Naylor’s Shiloh and Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller, as well as to a wider audience.” —School Library Journal

 

“It is clear that Martin is not writing a conventional dog story but a serious and very fine book about life, death, and the need to keep going in order to find joy again, whether one is a human or a dog.” —Horn Book Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250010216
ISBN-10: 1250010217
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: September 4th, 2012
Pages: 228
Language: English