If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This: Stories (Paperback)

$15.00
Special Order

Description


FINALIST FOR THE FRANK O’CONNOR SHORT STORY AWARD

NOW WITH AN ADDITIONAL STORY

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all: A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter’s infidelity. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting the portrait of a dying man. Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves. 

Look for special features inside.
Join the Circle for author chats and more.
RandomHouseReadersCircle.com

Praise For…


“Incisive.”—People
 
“Powerful.”—San Francisco Chronicle
 
“Pitch-perfect.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
 

“Sparkling.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“Original and surprising.”—Chicago Tribune

“So deft, so understated, and so compelling . . . Fans of Mary Gaitskill, Amy Bloom, and Miranda July will feel like they’ve found gold in a river when they discover Robin Black.” —O: The Oprah Magazine

“Each story reads like a mini-novel. . . . Worlds are contained in a single page. And the writing . . . oh, the writing.”—San Francisco Chronicle

“Characters so fully imagined you’ll feel they’re in the room.”—People
 
“Powerful and touching . . . sparkling with poetic vision.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“Exquisitely distilled tales of loss and reckoning.”—Vogue

Product Details
ISBN: 9780812980684
ISBN-10: 0812980689
Publisher: Random House Trade
Publication Date: April 26th, 2011
Pages: 311
Language: English