Night Game (Hardcover)

$23.95
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


The tough, caring, and distinctive John Marquez is back. Booklist lauded him as "far and away the most inventive new detective hero." The San Francisco Chronicle raved "readers may find themselves wanting to buy this guy Marquez a drink just to keep him talking." And The Chicago Tribune gave high praise to the way author Kirk Russell "makes us quickly believe in Marquez and his cause." In this gripping new crime novel, former federal drug agent Marquez again pushes the boundaries of safety and politics when he takes his team of Fish and Game officers on a dangerous operation in pursuit of bear poachers. Night Game hits hard and moves fast toward a finish that ricochets through wilderness, backwoods towns, and the darker recesses of love and greed. A second novel that delivers -- and firmly establishes a great series.

About the Author


Kirk Russell lives in Berkeley, California.

Praise for Night Game…


Splendid second outing in a procedural series (Shell Games, 2003) about a tough-as-nails California Fish & Game investigator busting a cabal of bear poachers...Superb suspense, culminating in an exhausting but satisfying series of chases, showdowns, and bitter glimpses of justice denied. --Kirkus Reviews (Starred review)

Russell introduced a highly original detective, an officer in the California Department of Fish and Game, in last year's Shell Games. The return of the Fish and Game officer, John Marquez, this time working forests rather than the shore, proves the debut was no fluke. Russell writes of the wilds with deep knowledge, making his story achingly credible. --Booklist

"With its complex plotting and tough yet honorable protagonist, this exciting outdoor crime series is just the ticket for fans of C.J. Box's Joe Pickett and Joseph Heywood's Grady Service." --Library Journal

"Genuine evil and heart-stopping action are not reserved solely for the gritty inner city, but flourish as well in Kirk Russell's rural California settings in his second John Marquez outing, Night Game. This is a series, and an author, to hitch on to." --C.J. Box, author of Trophy Hunt

"Kirk Russell writes with the clarity of a mountain stream. He has captured a fascinating subculture and peopled it with characters deep enough to drown in. The story flows through the brain with an exhilarating rush." --Nevada Barr, author of High Country

"Night Game is an engaging, harrowing, and at times heart-breaking tale told with crisp but evocative prose. Author Kirk Russell guides us through a world of ruthless bear poachers and organ harvesters, with an unerring eye for how the marginalized mandate of wildlife protectors opens up into a much larger story of who we are and how we live. A bracing, convincing, and heartfelt read." --David Corbett, author of The Devil's Redhead and Done For a Dime

Product Details ISBN-10: 081184112X
ISBN-13: 9780811841122
Published: Chronicle Books, 10/01/2004
Pages: 352
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs