Loud Awake and Lost (Compact Disc)

By Adele Griffin, Abby Craden (Read by)
Special Order


There was an accident. Ember knows at least that much. She was driving. The car was totaled. Eight months later, Ember feels broken. She can t even remember the six weeks of her life leading up to the accident. Where was she going? Who was she with? And what happened during those six weeks that her friends and family won t talk about?
In the wake of her critically praised young adult psychological thrillers, "Tighter "and "All You Never Wanted, " National Book Award finalist Adele Griffin has created another triumph in this unflinching story of loss and recovery that "Booklist" called exquisite in a starred review.

"From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Adele Griffin (b. 1970) is a critically lauded author of children's and young adult fiction. Born in Philadelphia, she began writing after college, when a job at a children's publishing house introduced her to the world of young adult literature. She drew praise for her first novel, "Rainy Season" (1996), a heartfelt portrayal of a young American girl's life in the Panama Canal Zone in the late 1970s. In books like "Sons of Liberty" (1997) and "Amandine" (2001), she continued to explore the sometimes harsh realities of family life, and become known for intuitive, honest, and realistic fiction. Over the past several years, Griffin has won a number of awards, including National Book Award nominations for "Sons of Liberty" (1997) and "Where I Want to Be" (2005). Her books are regularly cited on ALA Best and ALA Notable lists. A number of her novels, such as the four-book Witch Twins series, introduce an element of lighthearted fantasy. Griffin lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

Abby Craden is a professional actress and voice artist who can be heard in numerous TV and radio commercials, video games, and audiobooks. An "AudioFile" Earphones Award winner as well as an "AudioFile" Best Voice of 2012, Abby is an award-winning stage actress and a resident artist with the prestigious theater A Noise Within.

Praise For…

Starred Review, Booklist, November 1, 2013
"Two-time National Book Award finalist Griffin continues her exploration of the inner workings of the mind in this moving and surprising story...Griffin’s writing is exquisite, teasing meaning and memory from her sentences."

Kirkus Reviews, August 15, 2013:
"Readers will feel right at home with the dialogue; sarcasm, glee and angst are spoken in pitch-perfect teenagese...Ember’s unraveling of the mystery is compelling enough to keep the pages turning quickly and steadily. The startling conclusion itself is worth the ride."

Publishers Weekly, September 30, 2013:
"Piecing together a teen’s forgotten past is the object of this mesmerizing romance set in the aftermath of a horrific car accident...An intriguing and chilling mental exercise."

Shelf Awareness, December 3, 2013:
"Griffin's trademark atmospheric style is firmly intact. This moody romantic mystery will hit the spot for fans of Kat Rosenfield's Amelia Ann Is Dead and Gone and Nova Ren Suma's Imaginary Girls."

School Library Journal, November 2013:
"Griffin has crafted a story with well-developed characters and a suspenseful plot that keeps readers turning pages. Her exploration of traumatic brain injury, in particular the role memory can play in the healing process, adds depth as well as potential points of entry for discussion."

The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, December 2013:
"The device of the accident adds drama and mystery, but it’s also a very clever way to explore the significance of the common teenage experience of redefinition and its impact...The lure of secret romance and just plain secret secrets will draw readers to this inventive take on changing teen identity."

VOYA, December 2013:
"National Book Award finalist Adele Griffin creates yet another worthy young adult thriller, a compelling page-turner with a gut-wrenching plot twist...Fans of Griffin will be eagerly awaiting this title, and this latest standalone is sure to gain her many new ones."

Product Details
ISBN: 9780804123679
ISBN-10: 0804123675
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Publication Date: November 12th, 2013
Language: English