Secret Pizza Party (Hardcover)

By Adam Rubin, Daniel Salmieri (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Shhhh! Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 
But shhh! It’s a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn’t already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012

"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids’ lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieriwhose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humorshows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." San Francisco Chronicle
 
"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." Kirkus Reviews
 
"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." School Library Journal

About the Author


Adam Rubin, PhD, is an assistant professor of Jewish history at Hebrew Union College Jewish Institute of Religion in Los Angeles, California. He is a founding member of Jews Against the War. He is currently writing a book on the Jewish community in Palestine during the period of the British Mandate tentatively titled the People of the Book: Sacred Texts, Hebrew Culture, and the Making of a Jewish Nation in Palestine, 1924 1948.

Daniel Salmieri has illustrated many fantastic picture books, including Secret Pizza Party and the New York Times bestseller Dragons Love Tacos. He grew up in Brooklyn, New York, constantly drawing and painting images of ninja turtles, dinosaurs, and fighter jets (not in the same scene...), and graduated from the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


Praise for Secret Pizza Party
“The skillful gouache-and-ink compositions are full of sly details and visual humor. It’s hard not to giggle at scenes like the lanky pizza man with angry eyebrows and a handlebar mustache rolling out dough while glaring at a “Wanted” poster featuring the raccoon. With a casually diverse cast of characters, Secret Pizza Party is a sure hit for primary-grade kids, who will appreciate the subtle humor and absurdity.” –School Library Journal starred review

"From the madcap creators of Dragons Love Tacos (2012), another animal foodie shows just how far he will go to get his favorite meal. This screwball of a story will leave readers hankering for a slice." --Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9780803739475
ISBN-10: 0803739478
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2013
Pages: 40
Language: English