The Catastrophic History of You And Me (Hardcover)

$17.99
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


An addictively page-turning debut for fans of Before I Fall and The Fault in Our Stars.

Brie is the “biggest, cheesiest, sappiest romantic” who believes that everyone will find their perfect someone, so when Jacob, the love of Brie’s life, tells her he doesn’t love her anymore, the news breaks her heart, literally, and she dies. But now that she’s D&G (dead and gone), Brie revisits the living world to discover that her family has begun to unravel and her best friend has been keeping an intimate secret about her boyfriend. Somehow, Brie must handle all of this while navigating through the five steps of grief with the help of Patrick, her mysterious bomber-jacketed guide to the afterlife. But how is she supposed to face the Ever After with a broken heart and no one to call her own?

“This debut is a fast, twisty, highly dramatic read about the turbulent nature of love.”—Romantic Times

“Rothenberg explores what happens in the afterlife when you aren’t quite done with your life.”—San Franscisco Chronicle

“The funniest, sweetest, most heartfelt, sigh-worthy and oh-so romantic story I’ve ever read. You’ll love it!”—Cynthia Leitich Smith, New York Times bestselling author of Eternal and Blessed

 

About the Author


Jess Rothenberg grew up in Charleston, South Carolina, graduated from Vassar College, and spent most of her twenties editing books for teens and middle grade readers. She lives in Brooklyn, where she writes full-time, dances interpretively, and dreams of one day owning a sheepdog named Leo. The Catastrophic History of You and Me is her first novel. Visit her at jessrothenberg.com

Praise for The Catastrophic History of You And Me…


"Inventive, gorgeous, funny and yes...heartbreaking. You will absolutely love this book."
-Lauren Oliver, author of Before I Fall

"Weaving significant contemporary issues into a romance flecked with humor, Rothenberg blends genres in a fresh and heartwrenching way. With echoes of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall (2010), this is an emotional and thoughtful first novel with a twist."
-Booklist

"carries readers to a complex afterlife full of surprises and challenges. In her debut novel, Rothenberg supplies readers with an imaginative and intriguing vision of what might happen after death."
-School Library Journal

"Peppered with slang and pop culture references, Brie's voice is utterly adolescent, and her lively, flirtatious banter with Patrick...rivals that of any blockbuster rom-com."
-BCCB

"This author has created a complex and intriguing story built around the afterlife. This is a good choice for fans of Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin or teens looking to get lost in a longer book."
-VOYA

Product Details ISBN-10: 0803737203
ISBN-13: 9780803737204
Published: Dial, 02/21/2012
Pages: 400
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 12
Minimum Grade Level: 7th Grade


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs