Open Secrets: A Memoir of Faith and Discovery (Paperback)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


In the tradition of Garrison Keillor, Open Secrets captures the friendships, rivalries, and rumors of small-town life by chronicling the lives of the citizens of a small Midwestern community through the eyes of a young minister.

Fresh out of divinity school and bursting with enthusiasm, Richard Lischer found himself assigned to a small conservative church in an economically depressed town in southern Illinois. It’s an awkward marriage at best--a young man with a Ph.D. in theology, full of ideas and ambitions, determined to improve his parish and bring it into the twenty-first century, and a community that is “as tightly sealed as a jar of home-canned pickles.” In Open Secrets, Lischer tells not only his own story but also the story of New Cana and its inhabitants. With charm, openness, and humor, Lischer brings to life the clash of cultures and personalities that marks his pastoral tenure, including his own doubts, as well as those of his parishioners, that a twenty-eight-year-old suburban-raised liberal can deal with the troubled marriages, alcoholism, teen sex, inadequate farm subsidies, and other concerns of the conservative, tightly knit community. But the inhabitants of New Cana--lovable, deeply flawed, imperfect people who stick together--open their arms to him in their own way, and the result is a colorful, poignant comedy of small-town life and all it has to offer.

About the Author

Richard Lischer is the James T. and Alice Mead Cleland Professor of Preaching at Duke Divinity School in Durham, North Carolina. Before joining the Duke faculty, he served as pastor of Lutheran congregations in Illinois and Virginia. He is the author of numerous books on preaching, theology, and ministry, including "A Theology of Preaching: The Dynamics of the Gospel" and the prize-winning "The Preacher King: Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Word That Moved America".

Praise For…

“[Lischer’s] portraits are masterfully drawn. Not only does he write beautifully, but he also tells the unvarnished truth about both tragedy and redemption in a Christian community.” --Publishers Weekly

“This is a beautiful book--beautifully conceived, beautifully executed, and rare in the beauty of its pastoral and theological sensibilities.” --Richard John Newhaus, First Things

Product Details
ISBN: 9780767907446
ISBN-10: 0767907442
Publisher: Three Rivers Press (CA)
Publication Date: June 11th, 2002
Pages: 256
Language: English