Maiden Voyages: Writings of Women Travelers (Paperback)

By Mary Morris, Mary Morris (Editor)
Special Order

About the Author

Mary Morris is also the author of the novels "The Night Sky," (available from Picador), "Crossroads," and "The Waiting Room"; two travel memoirs, "Nothing to Declare: Memoirs of a Woman Traveling Alone "and "Wall to Wall: From Beijing to Berlin by Rai"l; and the award-winning story collections "Vanishing Animals and Other Stories" and "The Bus of Dreams," Her new story collection is "The Lifeguard," Mary Morris teaches writing at Sarah Lawrence College and lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter.

Gunilla Denton Cook, the author of the acclaimed book "Lost Words," which she compiled following the passing of her mother from the dreadful disease Alzheimer's, met Mary Morris whilst promoting her book. Together, they realised the pressing need for a tool to aid in Mary's profession, that of diversional/recreational therapy, the stimulation of dementia patients. They commenced this series of books, so far having completed 15, each designed to engage the participants in conversation and encourage personal and meaningful reminiscences and discussions to follow.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780679740308
ISBN-10: 0679740309
Publisher: Vintage Books
Publication Date: September 28th, 1993
Pages: 438
Language: English