A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys (Hardcover)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Six legends of Greek mythology, retold for children by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Included are The Gorgon's Head, The Golden Touch, The Paradise of Children, The Three Golden Apples, The Miraculous Pitcher, and The Chimaera. In 1838, Hawthorne suggested to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow that they collaborate on a story for children based on the legend of the Pandora's Box, but this never materialized. He wrote A Wonder Book between April and July 1851, adapting six legends most freely from Charles Anton's "A Classical Dictionary" (1842). He set out deliberately to modernize the stories, freeing them from what he called cold moonshine and using a romantic, readable style that was criticized by adults but proved universally popular with children. With full-color illustrations throughout by Arthur Rackham.

About the Author

Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804 - 1864) was a novelist and short story writer. He wrote many classic novels including The Scarlet Letter, Tanglewood Tales, Twice-Told Tales, and The House of the Seven Gables.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780679436430
ISBN-10: 067943643X
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Publication Date: September 27th, 1994
Pages: 260
Language: English
Series: Everyman's Library Children's Classics