Grimus (Paperback)

Grimus Cover Image
Special Order


Flapping Eagle is a young Axona Indian gifted with immortal life after drinking an elixir from his wayward sister. But after 777 years of sailing the world's seas, he becomes weary of life, and sets out to find the mystical Calf Island, a place where his fellow immortals have gathered and created their own version of the human race.
But Calf Island is a strange place - like its inhabitants, it is both blessed and cursed. Sensing a terrible darkness at the heart of the island, Flapping Eagle sets out to scale the island's peak and confront its mysterious and potent creator, Grimus himself.

About the Author

Salman Rushdie is the author of eight novels: Fury, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, The Moor’s Last Sigh, Midnight’s Children (for which he won the Booker Prize and the “Booker of Bookers”), Shame, The Satanic Verses, Grimus, and Haroun and the Sea of Stories, and one collection of short stories, East, West. He has also published a book of reportage, The Jaguar Smile, and an earlier collection of essays, Imaginary Homelands. He lives in New York and London.

Praise For…

Grimus is one of those novels some people will say is too good to be science fiction, even though it contains other universes, dimensional doorways, alien creatures and more than one madman.… A book to be read twice…Grimus is science fiction in the best sense of the word. It is literate, it is fun, it is meaningful and perhaps most important, it pushes the boundaries of the form outward.” -- The Los Angeles Times

“A fireworks of a book: beautiful, funny and endlessly surprising.” -- Ursula Le Guin

“Ambitious, strikingly confident.” -- The Times Literary Supplement

“A mixture of science fiction and folktale, past and future, primitive and present-day... Grimus is a parallel form of life, and conjuring of an alternative society.... Thunderous and touching.” -- Financial Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780676976090
Publisher: Vintage Canada
Publication Date: September 30th, 2003
Pages: 320