The Edge of Nowhere (Hardcover)

$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

July 2012 Indie Next List


“Becca King can hear whispers -- snippets of other people's thoughts that weave into her mind in occasionally dangerous ways. It's because of this ability that she finds herself stranded on remote Whidbey Island, hiding from her stepfather and involved in a mystery that shakes her new community. George brings her tremendous talents to YA for the first time, and this creepy, romantic mystery has just a hint of the paranormal and a fabulously lush Pacific-Northwest setting. Becca's story is magically addictive -- I can't wait for the next installment!”
— Hannah Manshel, 57th Street Books, Chicago, IL

Description


The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

About the Author


Elizabeth George is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley, as well as The Edge of Nowhere, her first young adult novel, which was a finalist for both the Edgar and the Agatha awards. Ms. George s novels are notable for their incisive characterization and their complex, multi-layered plots. Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island, where both The Edge of Nowhere and The Edge of the Water are set. She says, Whidbey Island asks to be someone in a story. I only hope I ve done it justice. Two more coming-of-age novels in the Whidbey Island sequence will follow. Visit her at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy.” —School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

"In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel....the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but...it's the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today's YA fiction."
                                                                                                                --Suspense Magazine

Edgar Award nominee
Agatha Award nominee

Product Details
ISBN: 9780670012961
ISBN-10: 0670012963
Publisher: Viking Children's Books
Publication Date: September 4th, 2012
Pages: 448
Language: English