The Weekend Was Murder (Mass Market Paperbound)

The Weekend Was Murder Cover Image
$6.29
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes "The Weekend was Murder " from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
Mary Elizabeth can t wait for the weekend to begin at the Ridley Hotel, where a famous mystery writer and a troupe of actors are coming to enact a murder mystery for 150 amateur sleuths. Mary Elizabeth's role is to discover the body in Room 1927, which is supposed to be haunted. But nothing prepares her for the "real" body she finds in Room 1927
A masterfully constructed, engaging read that is] ingeniously plotted, fast-paced and lighthearted. "Publishers Weekly"
Fans will love wading through the myriad details and placing bets on the outcome. "Kirkus Reviews"
Mystery fans will enjoy trying to solve the various crimes. "School Library Journal"

"From the Trade Paperback edition.

About the Author


Joan Lowery Nixon (1927-2003) was a renowned author of children's literature, best known for series like the Orphan Train Adventures and Casebusters. Born in Los Angeles, she began dictating poems to her mother before she could read. At the University of Southern California, Nixon majored in journalism, but took a job teaching the first grade upon graduating. In 1949, she and her husband moved to Corpus Christi, Texas, and in 1964 she published her first novel, "The Mystery of Hurricane Castle." Nixon became a fan of mystery fiction when she was a child, and many of her most popular series incorporate elements of sleuthing. She won four Edgar Awards for best young adult mysteries, including prizes for her novels "The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore" (1979) and "The Name of the Game Was Murder "(1993). In addition to writing more than 140 young adult novels, Nixon also co-wrote several geology texts with her scientist husband.

Praise For…


"A masterfully constructed, engaging read that will delight mystery fans... Ingeniously plotted, fast-paced, and lighthearted."--Publishers Weekly

"Nixon's many fans will enjoy wading through the myraid details and placing bets on the outcome."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] something-for-everyone story."--School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780440219019
ISBN-10: 0440219019
Publisher: Laurel Leaf Library
Publication Date: February 1994
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Dell Natural Medicine Library