The Beautiful and the Cursed (Paperback)

$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore. 
   After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.
   In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties for Ingrid, and, disturbingly, the house her twin brother, Grayson, was sent ahead to secure for the family isn't a house at all. It's an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.
   And Grayson is missing.
   Yet no one seems worried about his whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.
   Ingrid is sure her twin isn't dead--she can feel it deep in her soul--but she knows he's in grave danger, and that it's up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost.

Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy:

“A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance.”—The Bulletin

“Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout.”—Booklist

“Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action…dark adventure and romance.”—School Library Journal

“Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment.”—Publisher’s Weekly

About the Author


Page Morgan has been fascinated with les grotesques ever since she came across an old black-and-white photograph of a Notre Dame gargoyle keeping watch over the city of Paris. The gargoyle mythologies she went on to research fed her imagination, and she became inspired to piece together her own story and mythology for these remarkably complex stone figures. Page lives in New Hampshire with her husband and their three children.
  Visit her at pagemorganbooks.com and look for the sequel, The Lovely and the Lost, available from Delacorte Press in 2014.

Praise for The Beautiful and the Cursed…


Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy:

“A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance.”—The Bulletin

“Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout.”—Booklist

“Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action…dark adventure and romance.”—School Library Journal

“Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment.”—Publisher’s Weekly

Product Details ISBN-10: 0385743122
ISBN-13: 9780385743129
Published: Ember, 05/13/2014
Pages: 352
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 12
Maximum Age: UP
Minimum Grade Level: 7th Grade
Maximum Grade Level: Up


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs