Nine Days (Paperback)

$8.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes place as two teens, an American teenage boy and his friend, a Chinese girl from his Washington, DC-area high school, must find her father who has been kidnapped--and they only have nine days. Although the characters in the novel are fictionalized, they are based on a real Chinese family who were part of the Chinese Democracy Movement and inspired this story.

"Few mysteries combine cultural diversity, politics and physical danger with a lighthearted friendship. This engaging mix will have great appeal."--"Kirkus Reviews
"
"A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems."--"Publishers Weekly
"
"A rollicking and fast-paced young adult adventure novel."--"South China Morning Post
"
"Hiatt...offers middle-school-aged readers an appealing mix of action and friendship, with lessons about world events and human rights woven throughout."--"Washington Post Book World
"
"A compelling, teen-centric political thriller . . . inspired by actual events."--"BooklistOnline.com
"A NCSS/CBC Notable Children's Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies

"From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author


Hiatt is a journalist at The Washington Post.

Praise For…


“Few mysteries combine cultural diversity, politics and physical danger with a lighthearted friendship. This engaging mix will have great appeal.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“A rollicking and fast-paced young adult adventure novel.” —South China Morning Post
 
“A compelling, teen-centric political thriller . . . inspired by actual events.”—BooklistOnline.com

Product Details
ISBN: 9780385742818
ISBN-10: 0385742819
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: April 8th, 2014
Pages: 241
Language: English