The Other Lands: Book Two of the Acacia Trilogy (Hardcover)

The Other Lands: Book Two of the Acacia Trilogy Cover Image
Special Order


The thrilling new installment in the ambitious Acacia trilogy, praised by the Washington Post as “gripping and sophisticated.”A few years have passed since the conquering of the Mein, and Queen Corinn is firmly in control of the Known World-perhaps too firmly. With plans to expand her empire, she sends her brother, Daniel, on an exploratory mission to the Other Lands. There Daniel discovers a lush, exotic mainland ruled by an alliance of tribes that poses a grave danger to the stability of the Known World. Is Queen Corinn strong enough to face this new challenge? Readers of this bold, imaginative sequel will not be disappointed in the answer.

About the Author

DAVID ANTHONY DURHAMearned an MFA from the University of Maryland and is the author of "Gabriel's Story," "Walk Through Darkness," " Pride of Carthage," and "Acacia." Durham lives with his wife and children in California and teaches writing at the University of California, Fresno.

Praise For…

“A big, fat, rich piece of history-flavored fantasy. . . . Imagined with remarkable thoroughness.” —Time“A novel of large impact, as radical a rewriting of George R. R. Martin as Martin himself has performed on Tolkien.” —Locus “Thrilling. . . . Durham's new world-like our old one-is crawling with wickedly fascinating [characters].” —Entertainment Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780385523325
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication Date: September 15th, 2009
Pages: 480