The Coming of the Dragon (Paperback)

Out of Print


Rebecca Barnhouse weaves Norse gods, blood feuds, and a terrifying dragon into this spectacular historical fantasy, a retelling of the end of the Old English poem Beowulf.

When he was a baby, Rune washed up onshore in a boat, along with a sword and a pendant bearing the runes that gave him his nickname. Some people thought he was a sacrifice to the gods and wanted to send him right back to the sea. Luckily for Rune, King Beowulf disagreed. He lifted the boy from the boat and gave him to Amma, a wise woman living on a farm far removed from the king's hall, to raise as she saw fit. Sixteen years later, Rune spends his summers laboring on the farm. And at King Beowulf's request, he comes to the hall each winter for weapons training. But somehow he never quite fits in. Many people still fear he will bring a curse on the kingdom. Then a terrible thing happens. On a lonely crag on a mountain that belongs to the giants, someone awakens a dragon. It is time for Rune to find the warrior inside himself and prove to the doubters once and for all that he is a true hero. For Fans of Christopher Paolini, Tamora Pierce, and all coming-of-age fantasy.

About the Author

A former high school teacher, Rebecca Barnhouse earned her doctorate in medieval English literature in 1994. She is currently an Associate Professor of English at Youngstown State University in Ohio, where she teaches medieval literature and a variety of other literature and writing courses.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780375861734
ISBN-10: 0375861734
Publisher: Bluefire
Publication Date: October 11th, 2011
Pages: 311
Language: English