The Sixty-Eight Rooms (Hardcover)

By Marianne Malone, Greg Call (Illustrator)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

January 2010 Indie Next List

“When Jack and Ruthie find themselves heading to the Thorne Miniature Rooms in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute for a class field trip, little do they know they will discover the key to taking them back in time and opening the doors to rooms that hold the secrets of history. This is a story that will sweep young readers into the magic of an exciting art and history mystery adventure.”
— Carol Hicks, Bookshelf At Hooligan Rocks, Truckee, CA


Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms made in the 1930s by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. Each of the 68 rooms is designed in the style of a different historic period, and every detail is perfect, from the knobs on the doors to the candles in the candlesticks. Some might even say, the rooms are "magic.
"Imagine what if you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you were small enough to sneak inside and explore the rooms secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?
Fans of "Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People," and "From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler "will be swept up in the magic of this exciting art adventure

About the Author

Dan Elish is the insanely gifted author of many novels for both adults and children, including "The Attack of the Frozen Woodchucks", "13" (based on the Broadway musical), and "The Worldwide Dessert Contest".

When he's not busy typing furiously away on his Lap-Top (not a Gum-Top or a Hat-Top or even a Balloon-Top), you can find Dan in New York City, where he lives with his wife, Andrea, and daughter, Cassie, and son, John.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780375857102
ISBN-10: 0375857109
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 23rd, 2010
Pages: 288
Language: English