Jake (Paperback)

$6.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


""I'm old enough to stay home alone, you know."
Mom said, "Not a chance. Who's going to lug the loot ba " and the locks on the door sprung open. I opened the door and unloaded the cart. It took five minutes, probably less.
"Mom?" I said, looking around when I'd finished. I didn't see her. "Mom?" I yelled. "Mom?""
It's a few days before Christmas when 10-year-old Jake's mom slips and breaks her leg. For as long as Jake can remember, it's just been him and his mom, so with no one else to look after him the hospital contacts the gruff granddad Jake only knows through awkward twice-a-year phone calls. When grandad shows up, he's nothing like Jake expected. But as Jake gets to know his grandfather and a makeshift family of friends and neighbors come together around him and his mom, he realizes that this might not be such a bad Christmas after all.
With beautiful spare writing that will appeal to fans of "Because of Winn-Dixie" and "The Higher Power of Lucky, " Newbery Honor winning author Audrey Couloumbis tells a story as warm and welcome as a cup of hot chocolate on a cold day and shows that the best gift of all is the gift of family.

About the Author


Audrey Couloumbis was born in Illinois. She currently lives in Queens, NY,
and upstate NY with her husband. This is her first children's book.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780375856310
ISBN-10: 0375856315
Publisher: Yearling Books
Publication Date: August 23rd, 2011
Pages: 162
Language: English