Zeno's Conscience (Paperback)

By Italo Svevo, William Weaver (Translator), Elizabeth Hardwick (Preface by)
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

About the Author


Italo Svevo, nato Aron Hector Schmitz (Trieste, 19 dicembre 1861 - Motta di Livenza, 13 settembre 1928), fu uno scrittore e drammaturgo italiano, autore di numerosi romanzi, racconti brevi e opere teatrali. Nato Aron Hector Schmitz a Trieste, nell'allora impero austro-ungarico, la notte tra il 19 e il 20 dicembre 1861 da agiata famiglia ebraica (padre tedesco, Franz, commerciante, e madre italiana, Allegra Moravia), cambio in seguito il suo nome in Ettore Schmitz e a seguire lo italianizzo definitivamente Ettore Samigli a seguito dell'annessione all'Italia della Venezia Giulia. Con tale ultimo nome pubblico i suoi primi lavori. Nel 1874 fu mandato dal padre a vivere e a studiare, assieme ai due fratelli Adolfo ed Elio, al collegio di Segnitz, in Baviera, dove studio il tedesco e altre materie utili per l'attivita commerciale. La sua formazione avvenne quindi in un ambiente linguistico prettamente tedesco - benche italofono fin dall'infanzia - elemento che influenzera profondamente il suo stile letterario portandolo a caratteristiche forzature stilistiche, spesso criticate da taluni esponenti dell'ambiente letterario italiano. La biculturalita sara un elemento importante nella vita dello scrittore, che egli tuttavia (a differenza di molti letterati risorgimentali) non vivra mai in modo conflittuale o doloroso, ma sempre in armonia, sottolineando anzi la propria doppia culturalita nella scelta dello pseudonimo Italo Svevo. Nel 1878 torno a Trieste e termino il suo percorso di studi commerciali all'istituto commerciale Pasquale Revoltella senza trascurare la cultura letteraria leggendo prima i classici tedeschi e successivamente i classici italiani. Nel 1880, con il fallimento dell'azienda paterna, dovette iniziare a lavorare presso la filiale cittadina della Banca Union di Vienna, impiego che, sebbene mai amato, mantenne per diciotto anni. Nello stesso periodo inizio la collaborazione con L'Indipendente, giornale di ampie vedute socialiste per il quale scrisse 25 recensioni e saggi teatrali e letterari.

WILLIAM WEAVER has been the leading translator of Italian writing into English for half a century and several samples of his own work are included in "Open City," Among his previous books is "A Legacy of Excellence: The Story of Villa I Tatti," Weaver divides his year among Italy, New York City, and Annandale-on-Hudson, where he is on the faculty of Bard College.

Elizabeth Hardwick is the author of many books and essays, including "Herman Melville" (Penguin Lives), "Sleepless Nights," and "American Fictions," available as a Modern Library paperback. She lives in New York City.

Praise For…


“Svevo’s masterpiece . . . [in] a fresh translation by the dean of Italian literary translators.” –Los Angeles Times

“An excellent new rendering [of a] marvellous and original book.”–James Wood, London Review of Books

“A masterpiece, a novel overflowing with human truth in all its murkiness, laughter and terror, a book as striking and relevant today as when it was first published, and a book that is in every good way–its originality included–like life.” –Claire Messud, The New Republic

“Hilarious. . . . Effortlessly inventive and eerily prescient. . . . William Weaver . . . updates the novelist’s idiosyncratic prose with great affection.” –The Atlantic Monthly

“An event in modern publishing. For the first time, I believe, in English, we get the true, dark music, the pewter tints, of Svevo’s great last novel. . . . [Svevo is] a master.” –Joan Acocella, The New Yorker

“[An] exhilarating and utterly original novel. . . . Weaver’s version strikes one as excellent.” –P. N. Furbank, Literary Review

“One of the great comic novels of the twentieth century. . . . [Svevo is] perhaps the most significant Italian modernist novelist.” –The Times Literary Supplement

“[A] neglected masterpiece. Seventy-five years old, the novel feels entirely modern.” –The Boston Globe

“A reason for celebration. . . . If you have never read Svevo, do so as soon as you can. He is beautiful and important.” –New Statesman

“One of the indispensable 20th-century novels. . . . A revolutionary book, and arguably (in fact, probably) the finest of all Italian novels.” –Kirkus Reviews

“No one has done more to make modern Italian literature available in English than William Weaver. . . . [His new translation is] scrupulously accurate.” –Anniston Star

Product Details
ISBN: 9780375727764
ISBN-10: 0375727760
Publisher: Vintage Books USA
Publication Date: February 4th, 2003
Pages: 464
Language: English