Vienna Nocturne (Paperback)

$16.00
Not Yet Published

Description


In the tradition of Paula McLain's "The Paris Wife" and Laura Moriarty's "The Chaperone" comes a sweeping historical love story and a portrait of an age. "Vienna Nocturne" is a deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures--a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse--in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart's greatest compositions.
In late-eighteenth-century London, a young girl takes her first singing lessons with a mysterious castrato in exile. Her life is forever changed. Having learned everything he can teach her, Anna leaves behind all the security and familiarity of home and journeys to Naples and Venice to struggle and triumph in Italy's greatest opera houses. Only sixteen, she finds herself in an intoxicating world of theaters, nobility, and vice, overwhelmed by her newfound freedom and fame. Her first bitter experience of love and heartbreak inevitably follows.
Within a few years, Anna is invited to sing in Vienna, the City of Music, by the emperor himself. There, in a teasing game of theft and play, Anna first meets Mozart, a young virtuoso pianist and striving, prodigiously talented composer. They are matched in intellect and talent, and an immediate and undeniable charge occurs between the two, despite both being married to others.
As her star rises in Vienna and her personal life deteriorates, Anna experiences an ultimate crisis. During this trying time, her only light is Mozart: his energy, his determination for her, and his art. She, in turn, becomes his hope and inspiration, and his joy, as he writes for her some of his most exquisite and enduring arias--music that will live on as his masterworks.
Rich in historical detail and beautifully wrought by Vivien Shotwell, an author who is herself an opera singer, "Vienna Nocturne" is a dramatic tour de force of a woman's struggle to find love and fame in an eighteenth-century world that controls and limits her at every turn.
Advance praise for "Vienna Nocturne"
"You don't have to be an opera buff to fall deep into "Vienna Nocturne." Vivien Shotwell catapults you straight into the eighteenth century with abundant, vivid detail. I found Anna Storace's journey from prodigy to prima donna an irresistible tale."--Nancy Horan, author of "Loving Frank "and" Under the Wide and Starry Sky"
" "
"Passionate and yet precise, dense with feeling yet as clean as a bird in flight: This novel emulates Mozart's music even as it beautifully imagines his love for a memorable singer. What an excellent debut "--Andrea Barrett, National Book Award-winning author of "Archangel" and "Ship Fever"
""Vienna Nocturne" is as finely intelligent as it is lushly romantic, and beautifully renders how much music can convey, even when it's hardly the only expressive tool lovers have at hand. Very few novels have expressed as persuasively how it feels to be taken up by the kind of passions that, despite everything, can make a soul huge with life and joy."--Jim Shepard, author of National Book Award finalist "Like You'd Understand, Anyway"
" "
"Vivien Shotwell has written a novel that, like her heroine, the singer Anna Storace, is brilliant, warm, irresistible, and infinitely moving. Her descriptions of music, of her characters, of Venice and Vienna are so vivid and so richly compelling that I was amazed to look up from these pages and discover that I was still in Massachusetts."--Margot Livesey, author of "The House on Fortune Street" and "The Flight of Gemma Hardy"

"From the Hardcover edition."

Product Details ISBN-10: 034553638X
ISBN-13: 9780345536389
Published: Ballantine Books, 10/07/2014
Pages: 256
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs