The Fire (Paperback)

$15.00
Special Order

November 2008 Indie Next List


“After reading Katherine Neville's novel The Eight years ago, I had high expectations for this sequel. The Fire delivered more than I could have hoped -- history, intrigue, chess moves, fascinating characters, and an engrossing plot. A great read that I can't wait to recommend.”
— Susan Sinclair, Newtown Bookshop, Newtown, PA

Description


2003, Colorado: Alexandra Solarin is summoned home to her family's ancestral Rocky Mountain hideaway for her mother's birthday. Thirty years ago, her parents, Cat Velis and Alexander Solarin, believed that they had scattered the pieces of the Montglane Service around the world, burying with the chessmen the secrets of the power that comes with possessing them. But Alexandra arrives to find that her mother is missing-and that the Game has begun again.
1822, Albania: Haidee, the young daughter of a powerful Ottoman ruler, embarks on a dangerous mission to smuggle a valuable relic out of Albania and deliver it into the hands of the one man who might be able to save it. Haidee's journey brings forth chilling revelations that burn through history to the present day.

About the Author


Katherine Neville was a global executive in data processing, and was a vice president of the Bank of America for many years. As an international consultant, she delivered computer systems for corporations and governments around the world. She was for some years a commercial photographer, professional model, and painter.
Katherine Neville's novels have been translated into more than fifteen languages. She lives in Virginia and abroad.

Praise For…


“[An] exotic, labyrinthine conspiracy tale . . . the perfect escapist adventure.”—Washington Post

The Fire expertly blends history, science, and myth. Katherine Neville is the undisputed queen of the international suspense genre.”—Steve Berry, author of The Charlemagne Pursuit

“For fans of The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four, Neville’s historical detective story . . . packs an epic wallop.”—People StyleWatch

The Fire impresses as much for its literary aspects as it does for its action, puzzles and suspense. . . . This is a book to be savored as it’s read, and admired for the beauty of its accomplishment.”—Chicago Sun-Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780345500687
ISBN-10: 0345500687
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: August 25th, 2009
Pages: 451
Language: English