The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow (Hardcover)

$14.99
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


Look! It’s a book

With a mouse and his house,

And a mole in a hole,

And a bike with a spike,

And, of course,

A big, fat cow that goes . . .

5,4,3,2,1 . . . KAPOW!

 

New York Times-bestselling author Andy Griffiths, follows up his slimy, rhymey, easy-to-read hit, The Cat on the Mat is Flat, with ten more hilarious short, rhyming stories guaranteed to make kids laugh. 

 

* Kirkus Reviews

About the Author


Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of The Day My Butt Went Psycho!, Zombie Butts from Uranus!, Butt Wars! The Final Conflict, and The Cat on the Mat Is Flat. In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children’s choice awards in one year for Just Shocking! He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia’s most popular children’s writer.

Terry Denton is known for his humorous illustration style and has worked with Andy on the Just! books and The Cat on the Mat is Flat, among others. He lives by the sea in Australia with his wife, three kids, and a pop-up toaster that only toasts on one side.

Praise for The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow…


"Early, emerging, reluctant, and accomplished readers alike are certain to enjoy this hilarious, easy to read book chock-full of whacky, slapstick rhyme.  Perfectly complemented with zany black-and-white illustrations, kids will gobble-up these 10 short stories....Full of humor, fun, and an easy format that builds reading confidence, this selection is irresistible." —Herald Tribune (Sarasota, FL)   Praise for Andy Griffith's The Cat on The Mat is Flat: “Griffiths’s innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton’s edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor.” —Publishers Weekly “Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals.” —The Excelsior File (blog) “Definitely not your parents’ easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith’s Happy Hockey Family.” —Kirkus Reviews “This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation’s outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun.” —Armchair Interviews  

Product Details ISBN-10: 0312367880
ISBN-13: 9780312367886
Published: Feiwel & Friends, 09/29/2009
Pages: 144
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 4
Maximum Age: 8
Minimum Grade Level: Preschool
Maximum Grade Level: 3rd Grade


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs