Khan Al-Khalili (Paperback)

By Naguib Mahfouz, Roger Allen (Translator)
$15.00
Special Order

Description


"Khan al-Khalili, " by Egyptian Nobel Laureate Naguib Mahfouz, portrays the clash of old and new in an historic Cairo neighborhood as German bombs fall on the city.
The time is 1942, World War II is at its height, and the Africa Campaign is raging along the northern coast of Egypt. Against this backdrop, Mahfouz's novel tells the story of the Akifs, a middle-class family that has taken refuge in Cairo's colorful and bustling Khan al-Khalili neighborhood. Believing that the German forces will never bomb such a famously religious part of the city, they leave their more elegant neighborhood and seek safety among the crowded alleyways, busy cafEs, and ancient mosques of the Khan. Through the eyes of Ahmad, the eldest Akif son, Mahfouz presents a richly textured vision of the Khan, and of a crisis that pits history against modernity and faith against secularism. Fans of "Midaq Alley" and "The Cairo Trilogy" will not want to miss this engaging and sensitive portrayal of a family at the crossroads of the old world and the new.
Translated from the Arabic by Roger Allen.

About the Author


Naguib Mahfouz (1911 2006) was the most important Arabic writer of his generation. He is the author of over thirty novels, including "The Cairo Trilogy", "Thief and the Dog", "Miramar", and "Children of the Alley". He is the winner of the 1988 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Roger Allen is professor of Arabic language and literature at the University of Pennsylvania. Among his translations are Naguib Mahfouz's Mirrors (AUC Press, 1999) and Bensalem Himmich's The Polymath (AUC Press, 2000).

Praise For…


 “Mahfouz is a storyteller of the first order in any idiom.” —Vanity Fair

Product Details
ISBN: 9780307742575
ISBN-10: 0307742571
Publisher: Anchor Books
Publication Date: September 20th, 2011
Pages: 394
Language: English