Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side (Paperback)

Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side Cover Image
By Rayya Elias, Elizabeth Gilbert (Introduction by)
$16.00
Special Order

Description


Terrific. . .Rayya's stories blew mine away. Elizabeth Gilbert
A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC. Craig Marks
When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.
Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias's passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets between her visits to jail.
This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias's wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows makeHarley Locoa powerful read that's sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.

About the Author


Rayya Elias was born in Aleppo, Syria, in 1960 and moved to Detroit in 1967. She is a musician, hairdresser, filmmaker, and also sells real estate to make some extra scratch. She lives in New York City and Little York, New Jersey.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143125051
ISBN-10: 0143125052
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: March 25th, 2014
Pages: 308
Language: English