The Edge of Nowhere (Paperback)

$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

July 2012 Indie Next List


“Becca King can hear whispers -- snippets of other people's thoughts that weave into her mind in occasionally dangerous ways. It's because of this ability that she finds herself stranded on remote Whidbey Island, hiding from her stepfather and involved in a mystery that shakes her new community. George brings her tremendous talents to YA for the first time, and this creepy, romantic mystery has just a hint of the paranormal and a fabulously lush Pacific-Northwest setting. Becca's story is magically addictive -- I can't wait for the next installment!”
— Hannah Manshel, 57th Street Books, Chicago, IL

Description


The first young adult book by a #1 "New York Times" bestselling author
Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.
This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

About the Author


Elizabeth George, whose books have sold more than 5 million copies, is the author of several books for teens (combined sales of 400,000), including A Young Woman's Guide to Making Right Choices, A Young Woman's Call to Prayer, and A Young Woman After God's Own Heart--A Devotional. She's taught high school and college students and currently teaches and speaks at Christian events worldwide. Elizabeth and her husband, Jim, have two married daughters.

Praise For…


"Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre."--USATODAY.com

"The atmosphere of rich introspection gives this series opener strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin."--BCCB

"This novel explores what people can learn about each other when they look past behavior and consider the thoughts that drive it."--LMC

 

Product Details
ISBN: 9780142426753
ISBN-10: 014242675X
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: January 7th, 2014
Pages: 440
Language: English