Magic Marks the Spot (Paperback)

By Caroline Carlson, Dave Phillips (Illustrator)
$6.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Pirates Magic Treasure A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson's hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates: Magic Marks the Spot is a seafaring romp like no other. The paperback features an Extras section containing an interview with the gargoyle, Hilary's application to the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, and a sneak peek at the second book in the series, The Terror of the Southlands.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. There's only one problem: the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags. But Hilary won't let this stop her; instead, she sets out to find her own piratical adventure and gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous--and unexpected--villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky series is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society.

About the Author


Caroline Carlson holds an MFA in writing for children from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She grew up in Massachusetts and now lives with her husband in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, amid many stacks of books. She is also the author of the first book in the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series, Magic Marks the Spot.

Phillips has seen it all throughout his remarkable 32-year umpiring career.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062194350
ISBN-10: 0062194356
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 9th, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: English