The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V: The Unmapped Sea (Hardcover)

By Maryrose Wood, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator)
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way, he's sure about one thing: The wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse.

But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters. The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?

About the Author


Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.



Rana DiOrio was born in Providence, RI and grew up in a colorful Italian-American family. Her curiosity about the world began in kindergarten, while studying Western access to China and, obviously, panda bears. As a political science major/psychology minor in college, and then as a law student, she became fascinated with understanding perspective, and how just about any person, place, thing, or situation can be interpreted in so many valid ways. "I believe that I have two ears, two eyes and one mouth intentionally, so I listen and observe more than I talk," she explains. "As a result, I think I'm better able to respect and appreciate diversity." Rana's inspiration for writing What Does It Mean To Be Global? was the election of President Barack Obama and explaining its significance, on so many levels, to her children. Rana has written her way through life-as a student, a lawyer, an investment banker, a private equity investor, and now as an author and publisher of children's picture books. Her interests include practicing yoga, reading non-fiction, dreaming, effecting positive change, and, of course, being global, green, and present. She lives in Tiburon, California with her three Little Pickles.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062110411
ISBN-10: 0062110411
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: April 21st, 2015
Pages: 416
Language: English