Black Water Rising CD: Black Water Rising CD (Compact Disc)

$41.99
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Indie Next List

July 2009
Debut author Attica Locke has written a riveting novel set in Houston in the early 1980s, as two former civil rights activists find themselves in a new fight for justice for laborers in the big oil industry of Texas. -- Sarah Bagby, Watermark Books, Wichita, KS

Description


Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget.

Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. But he's carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him.

Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night he impulsively saves a woman from drowning in the bayou—and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past.

With intelligent writing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

About the Author


Attica Lockeis a screenwriter who has worked in both film and television. A native of Houston, Texas, she lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter.

Product Details ISBN-10: 0061772097
ISBN-13: 9780061772092
Published: HarperAudio, 06/01/2009
Language: English


View Calendar of Events & Classes

Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Upcoming Programs