Suggested Reading for Kids & Young Adults

 
Susan K., our children's book buyer, really knows what kids like to read. She's on top of all the latest excellent titles for kids and young adults. Here, she shares some of her selections  
  
By Muon Van, April Chu (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781939547156
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Creston Books - May 12th, 2015

Written in a spare, lyrical style using fresh, evocative imagery, In a Village by the Sea tells the story of longing for the comforts of home. A perfect book for learning about diverse cultures and lifestyles through rich pictures and words, moving from the wide world to the snugness of home. Artist April Chu includes many sly details (look for the cricket in the wall, humming and painting), that elevate this lovely book to the realm of the extraordinary. (Ages 4 &Up)


By Deborah Underwood, Meg Hunt, Meg Hunt (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452125329
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - May 5th, 2015

In this updated fairy tale, Cinderella dreams not of landing a husband, but a job fixing spaceships. With a little help from her fairy godrobot, Cinderella is going to the ball. But when the prince’s ship has mechanical trouble, someone will have to zoom to the rescue! “She quickly fixed the ailing ship,” The prince said. “Be my bride!” She thought this over carefully. Her family watched in panic. “I’m far too young for marriage, but I’ll be your chief mechanic!” For fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer. (Ages 4-8)


By Kelly Jones, Katie Kath, Katie Kath (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385755528
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 12th, 2015

I can’t help it—I love chickens, and I love this quirky story of a determined girl and her extraordinary hens. Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when her family moves to a farm they’ve inherited from a great-uncle. But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky hen appears and Sophie discovers she can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain:jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, even the entire henhouse. And then more of her great-uncle’s unusual chickens come home to roost. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, but when a local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe.       (Ages 8-12)


By Cherie Priest, Kali Ciesemier (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545620857
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - May 26th, 2015

When best friends May and Libby were younger, they created a girlpower comics heroine called Princess X. Years later, Libby died in a car that went over the side of a bridge. Princess X died with her. Now, May is 16 and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker in a store window. It’s Princess X. May uncovers an underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. As she explores the webcomic, she sees disturbing similarities with Libby’s story. Only one person could have done this—her best friend, Libby.     (Ages 12 &Up)


By Jim Averbeck, Yasmeen Ismail (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481405140
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 16th, 2015

Sophia’s birthday is coming, and she has only One True Desire:a pet giraffe. A real one. But she’ll have to convince the adults in her life, including her mother the judge and her father the businessman.Sophia’s an unusually intelligent girl, so she prepares her arguments in the form of individually tailored presentations complete with cost-benefit analysis. But her lengthy proposals are pronounced “loquacious” and “verbose,” and in the end, it’s a single word that does the trick.  (Ages 4-8)


$13.99
ISBN: 9781484708491
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 5th, 2015

Dave Barry has the mind of a 12-year-old, and we mean that in the nicest possible way. A routine 8th-grade class trip to Washington, D.C. turns into an international incident when Wyatt Palmer is around. Wyatt and his friends find themselves in a heap of trouble—not just with their teachers, who have long lost patience with them—but from several mysterious men they first meet on their flight to the nation’s capital. In a fast-paced adventure with the monuments as a backdrop, the kids try to stay out of danger and out of the doghouse while trying to save the president from attack—or maybe not. (Ages 9-12)


$19.99
ISBN: 9780553535563
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - May 19th, 2015

Oliver is a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Delilah is the girl who wished Oliver into being. It’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down. (Ages 12 &Up)


$17.99
ISBN: 9780545731614
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - May 26th, 2015

From three-time Caldecott Honoree Peter Sis comes a delectable picture book that is as breezy, sweet, and irresistible as ice cream in summer. A boy writes, “Dear Grandpa, Summer is going well.But don’t worry, I am not forgetting about school! I read every day. I practice my math facts. And I am even studying world history!” And so he is. You can learn a lot of new words, like “mango explosion,” by reading the list of ice cream flavors. Math: if a scoop of ice cream costs 50 cents, and I have $2, how much ice cream can I buy? As for history, did you know that Marco Polo brought ice cream recipes from China to Italy? (All Ages)


By Alain Gree (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781908985354
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Button Books - May 12th, 2015

French author Alain Gree’s beautiful illustrations from the 1960s and ‘70s are known throughout the world. Vintage in style and boldly colored, they are charming and will appeal to kids and adults. Simple text is presented alongside the illustrations to teach children about the different flora and fauna they might find in a range of environments, including “On the farm,” “By the seashore,” and “In the forest.” The reverse of the jacket can be
used as a poster. (Ages 2-5)


$17.99
ISBN: 9780062320520
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 28th, 2015

Since she was a baby, Aza suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it hard for her to breathe, to speak—to live. When Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. As she and her best friend, Jason, explore what it is, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another—Magonia, a world in ships above the clouds. There she has power and can breathe freely for the first time. But in the coming conflict between Magonia and Earth, where do her loyalties lie? (Ages 12 & up)